Pinky, Sparkly Birthday Card

Here is a 5 x 7 birthday card I made for my sister. It’s really girly and was easy to make using the flower stickers from American Crafts Dear Lizzy 5th & Frolic. The fun cloud paper is from Michael’s Recollections All Seasons Cardstock Paper (8.5 x 11 stack). I trimmed a sheet down to 5 x 7 inches and adhered it to the white card base using my pink Scotch ATG gun.

Pinky, Sparkly Birthday Card

Side View

The grass layers (base and base shift)  were cut from Straight from the Nest (SFTN) at 2.5 inches. The bottom grass layer was adhered directly to the card base and then I used foam dimensionals to raise up the top grass layer that has the flower stems. I used The Paper Studio’s Celebrations paper pack for the grass and for the word “Celebrate”. The Celebrate layers (phrase and phrase shadow) were cut from SFTN at 1.5 inches. The Zig 2-Way glue pen does a perfect job for these smaller, intricate cuts. I added a pop of bright pink 1/8 inch ribbon and tied a bow. I punched 2 butterflies out of yellow cardstock using a punch from Emagination. I glued one directly to the card base and then used a glue pen on the center of the top butterfly so I could raise its wings a bit. Before adhering the top butterfly, I coated it in Clear Rock Candy Distress Stickles, let it dry, and then used Liquid Pearls White Opal to add some more detail.

Celebrate Birthday Card

I like how this card came together easily but with fun, girly colors and lots of sparkle. For a quick 5 x 7 envelope, use “Just Because Cards” and cut out the third envelope on the bottom row of the key pad at 7 1/4 inches. For these larger envelopes, a 12 x 24 mat and longer paper are needed. I use 11 x 17 cardstock from Desktop Publishing Supplies. I also used Design Studio to rotate my envelope 90 degrees to have the envelope cut lengthwise. I hide the score marks before cutting for a cleaner look and use my score board to score the folds. A 7 1/4 inch envelope leaves plenty of room for the 5 x 7 card that may have slightly raised dimensional layers.

Envelope (JBC)

Envelope JBC 7.25 inches for a 5x7 card

6 thoughts on “Pinky, Sparkly Birthday Card

    • Hi Sophia! Thanks so much for checking it out! I love those flowers too! I love sparkly things and I didn’t have to get messy with making my own! Me and glitter don’t get along well :). Hope your weekend is going good! ~V

What are your thoughts?