Mother’s Day Tea Cups

First I want to wish everyone a very Happy Mother’s Day! I also want to send special Mother’s Day wishes to my sweet Mom and Mother-in-law! For these two lovely women in my life, I made each of them a paper teacup filled with chocolate using Cricut’s Tags, Bags, Boxes, and More 2 (TBBM2). I cut both at 11.5 inches (or fit to page size). This will fit on a 12×12 sheet of paper. I used Dear Lizzy 5th & Frolic paper for the cup with leaves and Pebbles Seen & Noted paper for the cup with flowers. Both 12×12 sheets are double-sided with polka dots so I assembled the cups and saucers using both sides of the paper for a coordinated look. I learned an important tip when using the scoring tip. You have to make sure you turn off “Fit to Page” when scoring or the score lines will not line up where needed. I forgot to turn off “Fit to Page” when using the scoring tool so my scoring was off, but luckily the score lines weren’t that visible so I used the cuts as they were and manually folded the tabs on the cup by hand. I used Glossy Accents to adhere the pieces together and it held wonderfully!

Mother's Day Teacups - TBBM2

I made little tags for the cups that coordinated with the paper patterns. For the leaf cup, I cut a 1.5 inch leaf with its shadow from Accent Essentials. I used a 1/16th hole punch on the stem. For the flower cup, I cut both layers of a 1.5 inch flower tag from TBBM2.

Paper Teacup 1 - for my Mom

I stamped “love you” to the back of each tag using a small stamp from Fiskars All Year Greetings. I used twine to tie the tags to the cups’ handles. I filled each cup with paper filler and Dove milk and dark chocolates.
Back View

Paper Teacup 2 - for my MIL

Back View

I’m entering the teacups into the following challenge:

Cardz TV Stamps DT Challenge #29 (“There’s No Other Like My Mother” – make a card, layout or craft project for Mother’s Day!) Deadline: Noon (EST) May 16, 2013.

Happy Mother’s Day!

Vanessa

11 thoughts on “Mother’s Day Tea Cups

  1. Pingback: Tea Time and Flowers | Fika After Fifty Digital Photography and Art
    • Hi Sophia! Thank you so much! Both Mom and Mrs. Joanne loved them! I’ve used the TBBM2 cart quite a bit lately and have fallen in love with it. I was intimidated at first, but once I jumped in, it all fell into place. It’s definitely been a great cart. I wouldn’t mind getting the first TBBM cart as well to add to my little collection. I like how the cart has a teacup for the ladies and a coffee mug for the guys! 🙂 It’s filled with so many cards and 3-D projects so the possibilities are endless. Thanks for your lovely visit and comment!

What are your thoughts?

