“Celebrate” Birthday Banner for My Sister

Hello all – I wanted to share a banner I made for my sister for her recent birthday. She and her husband came up for a lovely birthday celebration at my parents’ house. We displayed the banner on Mom and Dad’s fireplace in the formal living room.

Crate Paper On Trend Shoebox Thickers - Pink

I used Cricut’s “Straight from the Nest” cartridge to cut out the banner using two sheets of patterned paper from American Craft’s Dear Lizzy 5th & Frolic. I wanted to spell out the word “CELEBRATE” so I cut out 5 triangles and four toppers out of pink paper and 4 triangles and 5 toppers out of floral paper (all at 4.5 inches). I like alternating my toppers against a contrasting paper.

Birthday Banner

The glittery letters are also from American Crafts but from their “Crate Paper – On Trend Shoebox” line. They’re called ‘Thickers’ which are glitter chipboard letter stickers. These are pink (rose) and matched the Dear Lizzy floral paper well. Using the stickers made this a quick and easy banner to make. I adhered the banner toppers to the base using my favorite glue pen – Zig 2-Way Glue. Since the banner holes cut out too small, I enlarged the holes with a 1/8 hole punch and then threaded 1/8 light green satin ribbon through each banner piece and tied bows at the end.

We secured the banner to the fireplace with glue dots but this proved to be insufficient, so Mom came to the rescue with some extra-strong masking tape! It stayed up all weekend! 🙂

Banner Layout - pink paper

Banner Layout – pink paper

Banner Layout - floral paper

Banner Layout – floral paper

Close Up

6 thoughts on ““Celebrate” Birthday Banner for My Sister

    • Thank you Sophia! I love the cardstock too! It’s so pretty and feminine! My sister loved it and it made for a lovely pinkish and light green birthday party! We had a lot of fun! Thanks for checking it out! Have a great weekend!!! ~V

What are your thoughts?

