Snowflake Christmas Card

Hope everyone is enjoying their Christmas Eve so far! I completed the special Christmas card for my dear husband and wanted to share this quick post. Then I’m off to bake a pecan pie! 🙂

Snowflake Christmas Card

This card is different from the more traditional ones I made recently but I loved the glittery patterned paper from My Mind’s Eye  called “O Christmas Tree” and that was my starting point. I used two patterns of paper from this stack.

Snowflake Christmas Card

The overall card measures 5×7 so the tree paper measures 5×7 and the green strip on the left measures 1×7 inches. It made a nice background to run twine and a red button on top. I used a left over holly leaf die-cut from last week’s cards (from Potpourri Basket cut at 1 1/4 inches) and then cut out two snowflakes from the “Potpourri Basket” cartridge at 3 and 2 1/2 inches. The snowflake image is originally from “Joys of the Season”. I highlighted the snowflakes with Stardust stickles and raised them up with foam dimensionals.

Close Up

The sentiment’s frame is cut at 1 3/4 inches from “Storybook” (on page 71) in accent blackout. The Merry Christmas stamp is one of my favorites from Stampabilities. I stamped the sentiment in red ink and used brown ink and a sponge dauber to age the outer edges. I wrote and printed the inside sentiment using Word’s Papyrus font in 18 and 16 pt.

Inside Sentiment

Thanks for following me on my little card journey this year! I appreciate all of your lovely visits and comments. Your support means so much to me as I continue to learn and grow in this paper hobby!

Wishing you and your loved ones a very special holiday season and a blessed and happy New Year!

~Vanessa

4 thoughts on “Snowflake Christmas Card

  1. Gorgeous card Vanessa!!! I love the glittery cardstock. It’s beautiful!!! The red button and berries really make the card pop. The detailing in the snowflake is fantastic!!! What a beautiful heartwarming sentiment you wrote for your husband. I’m sure he loved the card. Wishing all of you the very Merriest of Christmas.’ ~Sophia

    • Happy Holidays Sophia! I hope you had a lovely Christmas! Thanks for checking out my husband’s Christmas card! I gave it to him Christmas morning before opening gifts and to my surprise he too had a card to give to me which surprisingly had the same message of me being his best gift. I’m so blessed to have him in my life. He is so special! 🙂 Thank you for the lovely comment on the card! The My Mind’s Eye “O Christmas Tree” is a lovely stack with its glittery paper patterns. I’m most pleased with how the button and twine turned out. 🙂 I just love that homemade touch. Hope you have a fabulous New Year!!! ~Vanessa

What are your thoughts?

