Traditional Christmas Cards – Holly and Wreaths

Well, I finally finished my handmade Christmas cards! I mass produced two more designs yesterday and completed 10 cards and envelopes and got them ready for this morning’s mailing! The cards measure 4 ¾ x 6 inches. I cut out envelopes from Just Because Cards at 6 ½ inches using 11×17 white 65 lb. cover cardstock from Desktop Publishing Supplies Inc. I’m so relieved to have finally finished! I chose simple, yet traditional designs this year but I love the old-fashioned Christmas look these have. My colors were Kraft, cream, muted greens, red, and cranberry. I relied on dry embossing, stamped sentiments, and gems on a few of them. I typed and printed one sentiment for all 10 cards using one of my favorite fonts, Papyrus. The assembly line of making just a few designs is definitely the way to go. You can cut a large quantity of the same image using 12×12 paper and make just a few passes in the Cricut machine, instead of trying to make a batch of individual cards that would take much, much longer to finish. Last year, I felt the need to make each card unique and “special” and this is just not realistic unless you start months in advance and don’t mind making that many uniquely designed cards. Last year, by the time it was over, I was burnt out and didn’t craft again for quite a while! Cardmaking should be fun, not stressful! 🙂

Set of Embossed Christmas Cards

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

For this set, I relied on my handy Potpourri Basket cartridge which has beautiful Christmas images that originally come from Joys of the Season (JOS)! The only drawback to the Potpourri cartridge is that on some of the images, the layering possibilities are limited as compared to the fuller JOS cartridge. My work around was a simple paper punch – the regular kind sold at most stores in the ¼ inch size. Each of the two holly images on Potpourri only has one layer and its shadow. I wanted to have berries in red so I used the ¼ inch punch to punch out some berries. The size worked perfectly with the size of my holly cuts. The traditional pointy holly was cut at 1 7/8 inch. The smoother holly (which reminds me of a bay leaf) was cut at 1 ¼ inch. Plus the punched berries were perfectly circular so this was a great work around! I made seven holly-themed cards. I glued the holly onto the cardstock, stamped my holiday sentiment in red ink, and then ran it through my Sizzix Damask embossing folder. I love the texture of this folder. It gives a quilt-like appearance adding to that old-timey Christmas feel.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

For the other three cards, I used the wreath image, also from Potpourri Basket, and embossed the cream cardstock with the Cuttlebug Swiss Dots folder. The wreath was cut at three inches. I used a 12×12 piece of Colorbox cardstock in a muted light green and laid out six wreaths on my mat in Design Studio and then clicked on “Cut”. I cut out six so that I could have a mirrored look – two wreaths per card. I glued one wreath directly to the embossed cream cardstock and then popped up the second wreath on top with foam dimensionals. I then applied adhesive gems and made a tiny bow using my homemade Bow Easy and secured it with a glue dot.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

For the inside’s printed sentiment, I kept the measurements simple as compared to my overall card base size which is 4 ¾ x 6 inches. I set my Word layout to 4×6 with a .5 inch margin on all sides. I typed my message using the Papyrus font in 17 pt. and red ink. I hand-trimmed cream cardstock to 4×6. I placed these 4×6 sheets into the printer and printed the message. I adhered these printed mats to the inside of each card base by lining it up at the card-fold. This left a ¾ inch space at the bottom which is covered up with a ¾ inch strip of matching red or cranberry cardstock. This adds a nice pop of color to the inside without having to do a whole mat like the front of the card, saving paper! My picture only shows part of the inside because I didn’t take a photo before handwriting personal messages and I felt that was too private to share on the web! So you only get to see the typed part! 🙂

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

And that’s it! Thanks for checking out my final Christmas cards! Though I think I still have one more in me – for my darling husband. I have one extra card left over from my glitter reindeer and sleigh batch, but for my husband, I want to make him one that is special because he’s so special to me! 🙂 Awwww…. lol. So if I can get that done in the coming days, I will post it then!

Thanks for your lovely visits and I hope you and your loved ones have a wonderful holiday!

Merry Christmas!

Vanessa

9 thoughts on “Traditional Christmas Cards – Holly and Wreaths

  1. Your cards are all really pretty! I’ve never thought to emboss the card front after applying the die cuts–I love the way that turned out! Thanks for sharing all the details. Hope you have a very merry Christmas!

    • Hi Vanessa! Thanks for another lovely visit! The Damask folder from Sizzix adds such a nice texture and I like to layer die-cuts on the mat and run the whole thing through for a different look. I usually only use two layers of cardstock – the mat and one die-cut layer, though in this case, the added berries count for three layers. Not sure how many you can do for a good impression but it would be fun to experiment! 🙂 Hope you and your family have a wonderful Christmas and a Happy New Year! ~Vanessa

  2. I love the Swiss dots embossing folder. Your cards are beautiful I have a few more cards to make but none that have to be mailed! I really like damask embossing folder you used I’m going to have to get that one!!!

    • Hi Beth! Thanks for the lovely visit and comment! I would say that Swiss Dots and D’vine Swirls are my favorite Cuttlebug folders and the Damask folder is my favorite Sizzix folder – at least so far! Hopefully, I’ll be getting some new ones from hubby for Christmas ;)! I’m really pleased with how these cards turned out – they’re simple but I love the traditional look and they were so easy and quick to put together! They were a lot of fun to make! Happy Holidays to you and your family!

    • Happy Holidays to you my bloggy friend!!! I’ve had a lot of fun this evening seeing all of your beautiful Christmas projects! You have been way busier than me!!! I was so impressed to see all the decor and cards you’ve made! Awesome stuff! Thanks for your lovely visit and comment! I appreciate the support! Merry Christmas!!!

    • Hi Scarlett!!! Thank you so much for stopping by and checking out my cards! I’ve enjoyed seeing your wonderful handmade Christmas gifts and ornaments on your blog! You have wonderful ideas filled with charming and artistic touches to make a handmade item so delightful and unique! I am always inspired by your creations. Wishing you and your family a wonderful, memorable Christmas and a blessed and Happy New Year! ~Vanessa

  3. These are positively beautiful and elegant. I would like to do something like that but with a dove. Now, to find a dove stamp.

What are your thoughts?

