You’re A Blast – Birthday Card

Rocket Card - Just Because Cards

This card is for my nephew, Cody. He is turning 15! This left me with a challenge though as to how to make him a card appropriate for a teenager and it be a masculine card as well. My Cricut cartridges are limited so I don’t have many images for teenagers. Luckily, on the “Just Because Cards” cartridge, there was a rocket themed card so I went with that. I hope it doesn’t look too young. The entire card is made using all of the layers for the rocket theme, even the card base. All of the layers are cut at 7 inches, except for the inside sticker which is cut at 2 inches. The envelope is also cut at 7 inches and fits the card very well. The card when folded measures 3 1/8 x 7 inches so it’s a tall, skinny card. I did something a little different on this one – I glued another card base in white to the inside of the red card base. It looks like a liner and I like the added weight. The “Happy Birthday” sentiment is a rub-on.

Inside of Card

Side View

Thanks for looking!
Vanessa

6 thoughts on “You’re A Blast – Birthday Card

  1. Your card turned out great! I think your nephew will really like this one. Cards for teenage boys are the most difficult for me, and I have several teenage nephews. Your card has inspired me! Thanks for sharing!

    • Hi Vanessa! Hope you’re having a wonderful holiday season so far! Thanks so much for checking out his card! Masculine cards are hard enough without adding on the teenage factor! πŸ™‚ LOL Thanks for your lovely visit and comment! Merry Christmas! ~Vanessa

  2. Great Card Vanessa! Love the colors and the extra inside liner. I do that on some of my cards when the outside carstock is too flimsy. It gives it a lot more strength. I love the Happy Birthday rub on. I used those a lot when I was a kid and just recently bought a few. Can’t wait to give them a try again. πŸ™‚ Have a wonderful weekend!!! ~Sophia

    • Hi Sophia! I’ve been out of pocket again with this blog! πŸ™‚ But I am here! πŸ™‚ LOL Thanks for checking out my nephew’s card and for the wonderful comment! Because the card was so skinny and tall it did feel flimsy so the liner worked out better than I thought it would. I will be trying that again now that it worked out! πŸ™‚ Those rub ons are so nice! I found a 10 pack of these at Wal-mart for just a $1. Sometimes when I’m hesitant to stamp on a finished card, I will use a rub-on because I’m more comfortable with them. I hate it when I stamp something and it ruins the card. 😦 I usually try to remember stamping on an inside mat before adhering but I forgot to in this case, so the handy rub on came to the rescue! πŸ™‚ Hope this holiday season has been going well for you! I wish you and yours a very Merry Christmas!!! ~Vanessa

  3. Hi Arin! Thanks for the lovely comment! It has been a bit busy with making both birthday and Christmas cards but now I’m caught up! YAY! πŸ™‚ I really struggled on this birthday one. Having to make a guy card is tough enough, but then to have to make one for a teenager!!! UGH! πŸ™‚ But I think I got through it ok thanks to the Just Because Cards cartridge. I think next year I will focus on making a card with the birthday numerals so I’m not struggling to find the perfect image for a teenager! πŸ™‚ Hope Cody liked it! He better have πŸ™‚ LOL!

What are your thoughts?

