Glittery Reindeer with Sleigh

Hello again! Sorry for three posts in one day! I have been behind in my blogging but I have been busy in the craft room! I’m still working on Christmas cards! Yikes! Time is slipping away fast! Instead of making a dozen individual designs (like I did last year and got creatively drained for a month), I decided to mass produce two or three designs for my sanity and time management.

This set of cards is the first design I finished. I madeΒ five of these and when I was done I had silver glitter speckled all over me (in my hair, on my jeans, stuck to my fingers, you name it!) Using glitter can be messy but I love the sparkle! It adds to that Christmas magic we feel this time of year.

Set of cards

All of the die-cut images (sleigh, reindeer, and the word “Joy” are from my Potpourri Basket cartridge. They are originally from Joys of the Season.

Glittery Reindeer with Sleigh

Measurements:

  • Kraft card base – 5×7
  • Black cardstock mat – 4 1/2 x 6 1/2 inches
  • Snow Drifts – cut a 4 1/2 x 6 1/2 piece of white cardstock then cut that in half – ripped off the top edge of each piece creating snow bank – overlapped one layer on top of the other and highlighted it with Stardust stickles
  • Sleigh – 2 1/4 inches
  • Reindeer – 3 inches
  • Joy – 1 1/2 inches

I cut the sleigh and reindeer out of black cardstock, then used Elmer’s Craft Bond adhesive spray to coat it entirely, and then sprinkled silver glitter on top. I had to make sure to thump the excess off very well so that it’s not too messy for the recipient.

I used a white gel pen to add faux stitching to the Kraft card base and I also made tiny red bows using my homemade “bow easy” to add some color to the reindeer.

The inside sentiment was typed in Word using the Edwardian Script font.

Inside Sentiment

Thanks for checking out this set of Christmas cards!

~Vanessa

10 thoughts on “Glittery Reindeer with Sleigh

  1. I LOVE this card! I did the same thing this year and made three different designs to send out. Christmas came fast this year! Hope you were able to de-glitter! I think the glitter adds so much to the card. Have a great Christmas!
    Michele

    • Hi Michelle! I agree with you so much! Christmas came too fast and I’m still recovering from Thanksgiving! πŸ™‚ Luckily, the glitter is now under control LOL and I’m not finding it on me anymore! πŸ™‚ I think mass producing a couple of designs is the only sane way to do it unless a person starts a year in advance. There’s just too many other things to get done for Christmas that makes cardmaking stressful if not done realistically. I learned that the hard way last year! I was so full of ideas and it burned me out. I hope you have a wonderful Christmas!!! Thanks for stopping by! ~Vanessa

  2. Boy, you are on a roll! I’ve been a little behind these days working on large projects that I’m trying to finish. This is such a stunning design!!! I love the glitter reindeer and sleigh. You can never have enough glitter. But I agree, it does get everywhere when you use it. The black background really made everything pop. The faux stitching was a nice finishing touch. Love these cards!!!! ~Sophia

    • Thanks so much Sophia!!! I’ve been behind too and I’m trying to keep it from stressing me but as usual the stress gets the better of me! I still have to finish a few more cards and the mailing time is starting to get slim. I never seem to make the deadline of when I want them to go out! I like the black background too and the look of the silver glitter against the black reindeer and sleigh. It reminds me of black diamonds. πŸ™‚ Thanks so much for your lovely visit and comment! Hope you have a wonderful Christmas season!!! ~Vanessa

  3. What a pretty card. I hate working with glitter. I love glitter paper and glitter tape though. I don’t think I would have every had it in me to use glitter the way you did! The faux stitching looks fabulous as well.

    • Hi Beth!!! Thanks for your lovely visit and comment! Hope you and your family are having a nice Christmas season so far! Admittedly, I am always anxious when working with glitter because I know it will be messy! I don’t have any glitter paper but that’s a wonderful idea! I will have to add some to my stash so I can make cards like these without the mess and fuss! Thanks for the tip! Happy Holidays!!! ~Vanessa

        • Hi Beth! I’ve stopped being anxious finally! πŸ™‚ I’ve recovered from the glittery card experience and as soon as I mailed the last set of Christmas cards last week I breathed a sigh of relief :). I finally got my shopping done too! Yay! Hubby and I have been listening to Christmas music each evening the last couple of days and now all the wrapping’s done and the groceries for Christmas dinner are bought, and I can sit back and relax. I think I am going to start making Christmas cards months in advance next year since that was the main source of my stress. πŸ™‚ Trying to meet a mailing deadline had me bugged out! But I’m good now! I’m in the Christmas spirit and can’t wait to have a lovely meal with my parents on Christmas day. Mom and I are going to be cooking in her kitchen and having a good time making goodies! Should be a lot of fun! Hope you have a wonderful Christmas!!! ~Vanessa

What are your thoughts?

