Fleur-de-lis Birthday Card

Hello again! I have another masculine birthday card to share. I made this one for my Dad who celebrated his 65th birthday recently! I used Potpourri Basket for the two die-cuts and let the beautiful French Prep paper from Colorbok do the rest! On page 45 of the Potpourri Basket cartridge, I found a fleur-de-lis image that went perfectly with the paper. This image is originally from the Wedding cartridge. I cut this at 2 1/2 inches in brown cardstock. I also cut a 1 1/8 inch frame using <Plate> and it’s shadow layer on page 67. I stamped “Happy Birthday” from TPC Studio using brown Stampabilities ink. The frame is originally from the Street Sign cartridge.

Fleur-de-lis Birthday Card Inside Mat with Printed Sentiment

One of my favorite color combos is chocolate brown and light baby blue. I think this combo looks great for masculine cards and it’s so peaceful. The card measures 5×7 and I used tiny baby blue brads to secure the frame to the mat before adhering to the card base.

Thanks for checking out another birthday card! 🙂

Vanessa

4 thoughts on “Fleur-de-lis Birthday Card

    • Hi Sophia! Thanks so much! My Dad really liked it too! He said that since I’ve started making cards he has started taking more notice of the design of cards he receives (handmade or store bought). I thought that was awesome that he can appreciate the work that goes into making something. He loved the colors of the card and the fleur-de-lis images. It worked really well for a masculine card and I was tickled he liked it so much! Thank you as always for checking out my little cards! You’re a wonderful blog buddy and your support means so much!!! Take care! ~Vanessa

    • Thank you Arin!!! I’m starting to dig French inspired designs. It’s probably because my sister is going to France next year with her hubby and MIL! I want to make them a nice card for their send-off. I just wish I had an Eiffel tower die-cut. But if I don’t get a cart. for Christmas with one on it, I will improvise and make it work. I’ve seen some nice Eiffel tower stamps and ready-made die-cuts that would make a beautiful card. I’m so excited for their upcoming trip and I’ve got France on the brain! 🙂 The fleur-de-lis design worked so well for this masculine card. I love the color combo of the paper and that also had a lot to do with going the French route I’m sure. It made for a quick and easy card but I’m pleased with it. Thanks for the lovely visit and comment!!! ~V

What are your thoughts?

