Autumn Banner

Hi all! This will be a quick post (well, quick for me LOL), as I am still getting the house ready for our family’s Thanksgiving! I had a banner planned out since October but didn’t make it until today. I was determined to get it done, even if it’s only to be used this week! I used Cricut’s “Straight from the Nest” cartridge for the banner’s triangles and toppers which were cut at 7 1/2 inches. The banner is cut from two sheets of Paper Studio’s 12×12 “Natural Botanical” patterned paper. Here is the layout of my mat. I cut this layout twice (once in light green leaf paper, and once in brown leaf paper). It made it quick and easy.

For the letters, I used Cricut’s “Designer’s Calendar” cartridge. “A” “U” and “N” are cut at 6 inches, “M” at 5.5 inches, and “T” at 4.5 inches. I alternated the colors of the letters using beige and brown cardstock to show up well against the alternating banner colors. I also ran each letter through a Swiss Dots embossing folder before adhering. I connected the banner sections with bows made from twine. I’m not really pleased with how it’s hung – note the two neon green push pins! 😦 But it works from a distance. I couldn’t find any clear push pins and I couldn’t think of another way to hang it, so the green pins will have to do!

So that’s my first banner! I plan on making one for Christmas too. I think it adds a nice touch to the fireplace.

I am entering this banner into the following challenges:

Due to the holiday, this will be my last post for this week. I’ve got family coming in from Florida and we plan on having a nice Thanksgiving meal and visit together!

I wish you all a wonderful and happy Thanksgiving! Blessings to you and your families!

~Vanessa

14 thoughts on “Autumn Banner

  1. I love this!!!! I really like how you alternated the tops and bottoms of the banners. The patterned papers you chose are beautiful!! Your Thanksgiving decor on the mantle looks fantastic!!! Very festive!!! Good luck in the challenges. Hope you win! Wising you and your family a very Happy Thanksgiving!!! ~Sophia

    • Hi Sophia!!! Happy Thanksgiving to you and your family as well!!! Thanks so much for your lovely comments! Can you tell I love Fall?! 🙂 I love to decorate with autumn decor I’ve collected through the years. It’s a hodge podge of stuff but they have nice memories so I use them year after year. 🙂 I’m tickled you love the banner! I’ve been wanting to make one for a while and while getting ready for company tomorrow, I decided to whip this out since I had the cut file on my computer since October. It was so easy putting it together that now maybe I won’t procrastinate for a Christmas one! 🙂 Thanks for your support in the challenges too! 🙂 ~Vanessa

  2. This turned out beautiful! I love this, and it’s your first banner? Definitely beautiful and those green push pins are hardly noticeable!

    • Hi Joann! Thanks so much for your lovely visit and comment! The banner was much easier than making my cards! LOL I don’t know why I procrastinated so long in making one. Now that I got the first one under my belt, I feel more comfortable in making some more. 🙂 Hope you have a very Happy Thanksgiving!!! ~Vanessa

    • Hi Arin! Hope you had a wonderful Thanksgiving! This was my first banner – yay! It was much easier than I thought it would be! Can’t wait to start making Christmas decor and cards! I’ve got to start on that before I run out of time! 🙂 Thanks for the lovely comment!

What are your thoughts?

