“Special Delivery” Anniversary Card

Hello all ~ I made a card for my sister and brother-in-law’s upcoming anniversary. They have an autumn anniversary so I played on the idea of autumn leaves but kept the card’s colors bright and playful to fit any occasion. I love the stamp image on Wild Card so I played on the theme of “Special Delivery for two special people” which is the inside sentiment that I typed in Word. The special delivery design can be seen in the stamp mat, the postal mark I made in Word, and in the miniature envelope filled with autumn leaves. It’s as if the envelope idea is deconstructed – envelope, then postal mark, then stamp. It was fun  playing with these elements to design a card for a special event.

The stamp image on Wild Card is found under the alphabet feature. It normally has an inner cut that reads “stamped with love” but I hid these lines to just get the stamp shape cut at 4.5 inches. I then added a square mat measuring 4 inches which I ran through my printer to print the postal mark. I sewed these two layers together with a zig-zag stitch (this is the second time I’ve sewn a card so it’s not perfect! 🙂 ). I cut the cute envelope at 2.5 inches from Just Because Cards and the leaves are from Potpourri Basket cut at 2 inches (these are originally from Doodlecharms). The card base is 5 inches square so I cut an envelope from Walk in My Garden at 5 inches to mail it to my sister! The leaves are doodled with a fine point black pen and distressed with brown ink. I then embossed them with Cuttlebug folders – D’vine Swirls and Swiss Dots. I added a little bow to the envelope with a glue dot.

I am entering this card into the following challenges:

http://fantabulouscricut.blogspot.com/2012/11/challenge-me-monday-136.html (Fall Harvest – Make a project using Fall leaves) Deadline: Midnight November 11 (MST)

http://cardztv.blogspot.com/2012/11/attitude-of-gratitude-cricut-cardz.html (Attitude of Gratitude – Make a card for Thanksgiving using any cartridge(s), and any colors you’d like) Deadline: Noon November 20 (EST)

12 thoughts on ““Special Delivery” Anniversary Card

    • Thanks Missy! I appreciate your lovely comments! The stitching is my second time ever – still getting used to the sewing machine :). I do like the look it gives to cards. Thanks for your lovely visit! ~Vanessa

    • Hi Bernadet! Thanks for your lovely visit and for the wonderful, supportive comment! Nice to meet you in the crafting blogosphere! These challenge blogs are so fun and I look forward to seeing your creations as well!!! ~Vanessa

What are your thoughts?

