Paper Pumpkins 2012

I’ve made quite a bit of paper pumpkins using brads, twine, and strips of cardstock and I’m at it again this year! This time I changed up the stem and leaves and incorporated a brown pipe cleaner to make a vine tendril. The photos below will show the steps and are captioned with measurements. These pumpkins are inspired by Martha Stewart. Last year, I saw a very helpful video on Linda Kaiser’s blog, “The Paper Boutique” and posted my first pumpkins using her tutorial at these posts: https://southerncricutlady.wordpress.com/2011/10/17/paper-pumpkins/
and https://southerncricutlady.wordpress.com/2011/11/10/pumpkins-and-more-pumpkins/.

Embossed cardstock – Sizzix Damask Folder (6″ x 1″ strips)

Picture shows strips to make 2 Medium and 5 small pumpkins. For a medium pumpkin – cut 18 strips measuring 9″ x 1″; For a small pumpkin – cut 12 strips measuring 6″ x 1″; punch a hole at each end of strip (I used a 1/8″ punch and medium brad but a 1/4″ punch will also work with a larger brad)

Tie each end of a piece of twine or hemp cord just below the head of a brad, leaving about 4 inches of twine between the brads for a medium pumpkin, and 3 inches between the brads for a small pumpkin.

Take one end of the “brad string” and thread one end of the strips of paper onto the brad and fasten to secure. *Note: If using embossed or patterned paper, make sure to thread brad with pattern face up – the head of the brad should be on the wrong side of the paper. Now take the other brad and repeat the steps on the other end of the strips.

Using your fingers, fan out the strips until you get a pumpkin shape.

Cut leaves by hand or by using a die-cutting machine. I used Cricut’s Straight from the Nest cartridge to cut leaves at 5 and 5 .5 inches then punched a 1/8″ hole at the bottom of the leaf. Unfasten a brad and thread the leaf onto the pumpkin.

I didn’t have any crepe paper, so I made a stem out of paper lunch bags. For a medium pumpkin, cut a 3 x 3 inch square from a lunch sack and for a small pumpkin, cut a 2 x 2 inch square. Fold in half, and punch a hole. Now crumple up the square to distress it and make it easier to twist into a stem later. Flatten out the paper and thread onto the open brad. This will momentarily cover the leaf but that’s ok!

Fasten the brad to secure the “stem” paper and leaf. Gather up the sides of the lunch sack square and then twist to make a stem.

Take a pencil and one brown pipe cleaner. Wrap the pipe cleaner around the pencil and slide off. Wrap the “tendril” around the pumpkin stem. Trim the tendril to the desired length with scissors.

And here’s the set of pumpkins – 2 medium and 5 small

Close Up View – patterned paper “Natural Botanical” by The Paper Studio and embossed orange pumpkins using Sizzix Damask and Cuttlebug Swiss Dots

Close Up View

Another close up view

Pumpkins in a basket

Pumpkins on a fence

*You can also make a large pumpkin by cutting 24 strips of 12″ x 1″ cardstock and using a 5 inch string between two brads.

Thanks for looking!

Vanessa

9 thoughts on “Paper Pumpkins 2012

  1. What a wonderful tutorial and I love your pumpkins. I might get brave and try this on the weekend while the children are away at nanny’s! I also love the pictures seeing the texture boutique and the kitty cat in the background was great! Your kitty cat looks a lot like my kitty cat 🙂

    • Hi Beth! Thanks for checking the ‘lil pumpkins out! When I first tried these last year, I was a little intimidated but was happily surprised when it worked the way it should! Now I can make them in my sleep! 🙂 They really are easy once you do one. The hardest part for me is tying the twine onto the brads and ensuring the right length in between but I have learned it can be approximate. I like this version of pumpkins better than the ones last year because these require absolutely no glue. No burning your fingers with a hot glue gun ;-)! Isn’t that little blue purse embossing machine cute? LOL I know you have one too! I love this machine! I’m tickled you notice Savannah in the background. She’s my oldest and sweetest cat – she’ll be 13 on April 7, 2013! She loves hanging out with me in the craft room. Sometimes I have to work around her 🙂 but I love her company. It’s nice she likes to be around me – much kitty love! Thanks for your lovely feedback! I always enjoy your visits!!! ~Vanessa

      • Awwww your Savannah is just to cute. My cat was 13 this year and she got really sick and I had to put her to rest. The other cat that I said that looks like your Savannah is young, she’s only 5. The cat that passed away this year was always with me no matter what I was doing. Carly my young cat is in love with my boyfriend so she doesn’t pay me that much attention, LOL 🙂

        • So sorry to hear of your loss. We lost Savannah’s brother, Roman in June 2011. He contracted an incurable and unpreventable FIP virus. Roman and Savannah were litter mates (stray cats born at my sister’s house in 2000) and I took them to live with me. They kept me company when I lived alone in my little apartment :). I miss Roman so much. He was a sweetie too. Luckily Savannah’s not alone – hubby and I adopted Sable and her sister Isabelle a while back. They will be 3 in March. They all get along so well so that’s a blessing! For some reason, I’m the cat lady! All 3 take turns in my lap and when allowed, sleep on my side of the bed! I think I spoil them so I’m their favorite :-)! LOL But Savannah has known my husband for 10 years now so she is pretty fond of him too! Sometimes she’ll lay on his back when we’re trying to sleep! Carly sounds cute too! I bet she’s a pretty, sweet girl! Cats are the greatest! 🙂

          • Cats really are the greatest. I am sorry for your loss as well. I have never had three cats. That must be a handful. Carly has been really lonely since we lost Poweder but I haven’t been able to get another cat yet. Maybe next year. Powder was one of those one of kinds cats that let you do anything to her. She was just so good natured 🙂

What are your thoughts?

