Life is Tweet! – DCWV Challenge

Hello all! I ran across a challenge at Northridge Publishing’s Create Blog. The challenge is to create any project using your favorite Die Cuts With a View (DCWV) paper stack. Six lucky crafters will win 12 new stacks of DCWV patterned paper (one for each month of the year!) I would be so excited to win since I love paper and I love DCWV! I thought the challenge was worth a try (you’ll never know unless you try, right?) so I made this “Life is Tweet” card featuring DCWV’s Linen Closet paper and cuts from Cricut’s Four Legged Friends (FLF) cartridge.

The entire card is made of Linen Closet paper and I used two sizes of stacks – some sheets from a 12×12 pad and some sheets from a 4.5 x 6.5 mat stack. The smaller mat stack has the same designs but they are printed smaller so you can layer against the larger prints of the 12×12. I like mixing the two sizes together for dimension.

Cricut Cartridges and Sizes of Cuts:

  • Bird (4 1/4 inches) – Four Legged Friends
  • Cage (3 inches) – Four Legged Friends
  • Scalloped Mat Layer (5 inches) – Just Because Cards
  • Scalloped Card Base with tan trim (7 inches) – Just Because Cards (this makes the perfect 5×7 card)
  • Life is Tweet (1 3/4 inches) – Straight from the Nest

Other Supplies:

Tan Hemp Cord – tied a double bow through the holes cut in the edges of the scalloped mat

Pearl Embellishment

Googly Eyes

Glossy Accents – for the bird’s cheeks

Stampabilities Brown Ink – to distress the cage

Foam Adhesive Squares – to pop up the bird and cage for dimension

Zig 2-Way Glue Pen – to apply adhesive on those tiny cuts

Elmer’s CraftBond Dot Runner

Here is another card I made last year using the same Linen Closet stack and Four Legged Friends cartridge. I love the light blues and tans of this DCWV stack!

6 thoughts on “Life is Tweet! – DCWV Challenge

  1. Both cards are really nice! I agree that the colors of this paper stack are very pretty. I might have to pick this one up next time I see it. Best of luck on your contest entry!

    • Hey Vanessa! Thanks for stopping by and for the lovely comment! I really appreciate your support! It would be so cool to win but if I don’t, at least I have another card made to add to my stash! ๐Ÿ™‚ LOL I hope you have a wonderful weekend!!! ~Vanessa

What are your thoughts?

