Bird Cage Shaped Card

Happy November 1st! We are now in the countdown to Thanksgiving which is one of my favorite holidays other than Christmas! 🙂 For those who stop by and check out my little crafty corner, I thank you for your visit! And for the wonderful people who follow my blog and leave such sweet, supportive comments, please know I appreciate you all so much. Your support gives me the confidence to share my paper crafts with you through this blog. I’m still learning and growing in this hobby and thrilled that I can share the journey with so many people who love paper crafts as much as me! My sweet Mom recently celebrated a birthday and we had a wonderful time with presents, cake, and ice cream. I made her a bird cage shaped card accented with a pretty K & Company die-cut butterfly. Below are clickable photos showing how to create this card using the Cricut Lite Bloom cartridge and Design Studio:

Cage Shadow – 6 inches

Cage Shadow – Distressing with Brown Ink

Hand-trimmed inked shadow layer to hide behind white cage

6 inch cage with flower centers – white cardstock

Back side of white cage with inked shadow layer trimmed to fit

Welded Bird Cages – 6 inches – inner cuts hidden (cut in light blue cardstock)

Layers of cage shaped card

Flower and leaves layer – 6 inches (cut 2 sets in turquoise for dimension)

Flowers – 6 inches (cut 2 sets in red for dimension)

Side view of cage shaped card

Details close-up

Cage Shaped Card

Supplies:

  • Colorbok 12×12 Textured Cardstock, Soft Pastels (light blue, white, turquoise) – Wal-mart
  • Ampad Earth Tone Cardstock (tan) 8 1/2 x 11 – Wal-mart
  • Red patterned paper – My Mind’s Eye “Simply Delightful”
  • Butterfly Die-cut – K & Company Que Sera Sera Die-Cuts & Acetates
  • Pearl Embellishments – Michael’s
  • Tan Hemp Cord – Wal-mart
  • Stampabilities Brown Ink – Hobby Lobby
  • Foam Adhesive Dimensionals – Michael’s
2 thoughts on “Bird Cage Shaped Card

  1. What a beautiful card. I absolutely love it. My BF’s mom loves birds and this would be a perfect card for her. I don’t have that cartridge that you used though. You put a lot of work into that card, obviously my favorite part of it is the butterfly and the blue background 🙂

    • Thanks so much Beth! My favorite part is the butterfly and blue background too! 🙂 I was drawn to the light blue as the card base and I think it’s a nice twist having the burgundy reddish paper and butterfly contrasted against it. My mom loves birds too! She has a regular following of chickadees, blue birds, hummingbirds, mockingbirds, and purple martins, with bird baths, houses, and feeders throughout the yard. I also gave her some new feeders and a hanging bird bath for her birthday! 🙂 Thanks for the lovely visit and comment! ~Vanessa

What are your thoughts?

