Colors of Autumn – Thanksgiving Card

I had fun trying out my new “Autumn Leaves” Tsukineko Kaleidacolor ink pad! This is a 5 color ink pad that gives you a rainbow of color for a multi-colored look using stamps or a brayer. For this card, I used the oak leaf from Inkadinkado Mini Stamps, Leaves. I stamped it twice onto cream cardstock, then fussy cut the images out with scissors. The embossed wreath is from Sizzix’s Birds and Wreath set. I dry embossed cream cardstock and colored the raised image using a clear ink embossing pen and soft chalk. It’s best to work in small sections with the embossing pen so that it’s still damp when applying the chalk. The embossing ink permanently sets the chalk so there’s no mess! Plus, if you make a mistake with your chalk on other parts of your paper, you can simply erase the mistake. I stamped “Blessings” using the Kaleidacolor pad to tie in with the leaves. This stamp and the flower layers are from Michael’s Dollar Bin. I secured the flowers together with an orange brad then adhered it with foam dimensionals. One leaf is also adhered with dimensionals to pop it up from the card.

Supplies

  • Tsukineko Kaleidacolor Ink Pad – Autumn Leaves
  • Inkadinkado Mini Stamps – Leaves
  • Sizzix A2 Embossing Folder – Elegant Wreath
  • Ranger Inkssentials Clear Embossing Pen
  • Craft-T Chalks – Orange, Ruddy Red, Burnt Sienna, Light Brown, Dark Brown
  • Flowers – Michael’s Dollar Bin
  • Orange Pastel Brad – The Paper Studio (Hobby Lobby)
  • “Blessings” Stamp – Michael’s Dollar Bin
  • 4.25 x 5.5 cream cardstock
  • 4.5 x 5.75 brown cardstock
  • 4.75 x 12 orange cardstock – scored in the middle then folded to make card base measuring 4 & 3/4 x 6 inches
  • Corner Rounder Punch – Hobby Lobby
  • 3D foam adhesive squares – Michael’s
  • Elmer’s CraftBond Adhesive dot runner – Wal-Mart

The Sizzix Elegant Wreath embossing folder can be used in so many designs. Just by changing colors or embellishments, you get a whole new look. Here are three other cards I made in previous posts using this versatile folder:

12 thoughts on “Colors of Autumn – Thanksgiving Card

    • 🙂 Thanks Sophia! I’ve been in the crafting mood lately, but after a bit it might wane. LOL That seems to be my M.O.! I got this stamp pad from Amazon for autumn cards. I never had a multi-color stamp pad before so this was fun trying it out! I need to perfect my brayering skills though. I tried that on scrap cardstock before making this card and I need more practice or better cardstock :). Thanks for checking out my card and for the lovely comment!!! ~V

    • Thanks so much Anessa! I appreciate your visits and feel bad that I haven’t stopped by your blog lately! I see your posts coming through and I want to check out how you and your family are doing! I will try and catch up tomorrow! Hope you are enjoying your new craft room!!! Thanks for your lovely visit and comments! ~Vanessa

  1. What a lovely Thanksgiving card! The multi-colored stamping is very pretty! And thanks for the tip about using clear embossing pens with chalk–I never knew about this. I also love all the different cards you made with the embossing folder. Thanks for sharing!

    • Hi Vanessa! Thanks for stopping by again and checking out these cards! I love this embossing folder! 🙂 The chalk embossing method was the first embossing technique I learned when I started making cards. I had done some web surfing on embossing methods and found a video on using a Versamark pad with your stamp and then applying chalk to make the watermarked image appear as watercolor or ink. And then I found Ranger’s clear embossing pen on Amazon and thought I could use it to color in stamps or use on dry embossed patterns. Since both the Versamark pad and a clear embossing pen makes the chalk permanent, it’s a great way to add color without much fuss and no mess. The pen is like a fine point marker so you can add detail easily with q-tips or chalk applicators. I guess I’m addicted to this method :)! Thanks for your lovely comments! I appreciate your support! ~V

  2. Your cards are beautiful. That folder is so pretty; I may just have to get it! I didn’t know about using the embossing pen or the versa mark pad with your chalks, so now I have a new technique to try. I just purchased some new chalks and already have the other items, so I am good to go. Really enjoy your blog and can’t wait to see what you have to share each time. Thanks so much.

    • Hi Karen! Thank you for stopping by and for the lovely comment! I’m tickled you like these cards and I hope you have fun trying out this technique! Thank you again for your support of this blog and my cards!!! 🙂 ~Vanessa

  3. You out did yourself! I am soo thrilled to see you bring back the paint chip butterflies! I have to tell you everytime I am at Home Depot or Lowes (which is a lot) I think of you when I pass the paint dept (lol)! BTW: your pumpkin and boat are just amazing too! You are on a roll!

What are your thoughts?

