“Autumn Colors” Card

This was definitely one of those experiments where I had a vision and it went into another direction. This happens a lot to me! 🙂 But I always have fun trying new things because I learn more each time I do. For instance, I learned that my Ink It Up! stamp inks don’t work well with a brayer, and some of the lighter colors aren’t as crisp as some of the more expensive inks out there. I am currently waiting on an Amazon order for a set of leaf stamps and a product that’s been around for a while: Tsukineko Kaleidacolor Ink Pads. Since I’m working on Thanksgiving cards, I ordered Tsukineko’s Autumn Leaves palette. Once it arrives, I’m going to try the brayer technique again to see if I get better results.

For this A2 sized card, I used textured white cardstock. It resembles a linen weave. This didn’t help with stamping crisp images (another lesson I learned), but it does add to a faded watercolor look, so I’m satisfied with this experiment :). I used two stamps from Martha Stewart – a leaf and a tree. I used my brayer to roll on different Ink It Up! colors: Harvest Yellow, Terra Cotta, Khaki Green, Cranberry, and Orange.  I used Ink It Up! Orange and Tart Lime to stamp leaves on the background over the “brayered” parts – is that a word? I used Stampabilities brown ink on the edges of the card face and to stamp the tree. Then I ran the stamped cardstock through a Sizzix Damask folder which almost gives it a look of fabric or a quilt. The Blessings stamp is also from Stampabilities and stamped in brown ink.

  • Light Brown Card Base – measures 4 & 1/4 x 5 & 1/2 inches (an A2 sized card) You can get two cards out of a 8 1/2 x 11 sheet of cardstock that opens vertically like this by cutting the sheet in half lengthwise (in portrait mode).
  • Medium Brown Mat – measures 4 & 1/8 x 5 & 3/8
  • Stamped Embossed Mat – measures 4 x 5 & 1/4 inches

I used hemp cord wrapped around three times and then strung the cord through two buttons and tied it off in a bow.

Thanks for checking out my experiment!

Vanessa

