Autumn Owl Birthday Card with Envelope

Ok, this is one of those cards that I’m not thrilled about. I hope it grows on me in time before I make the decision to mail it to my other brother-in-law who has a birthday coming up later in October. Since he has an autumn birthday, I wanted to use fall-colored patterned paper for the owl card on the “Wild Card” cartridge. I have never made this card before and the opportunities for embellishment are limited due its shape. To make it a bit more masculine, I added a velvety orange belt and used a leaf slider from the “Straight From the Nest” cartridge as a buckle. I wanted to add a birthday sentiment and the only space left was at the top. To keep it from being too plain, I added some maple leafs ย and now the placement reminds me of a cluster of flowers as if this was for a female! Maybe I’m just too close to it since just having made it and it’s not that bad. Any whooo (pun intended), I do like the greeting printed on the inside that starts with “Greetings Wise One” so I may just run with it.

The card base was cut at 5 inches along with the corresponding envelope (Wild Card). The slider was cut at 1 & 1/4 inches and worked well with the 1/4 inch ribbon.ย I ran the slider and the leaves through my Swiss Dots embossing folder and used Ink It Up! inks to distress them. The autumn paper is from Paper Studio’s “Natural Botanical” stack at Hobby Lobby. I used Glossy Accents on the beak, buttons for the eyes, and a rub-on for Happy Birthday.

The inside greeting was printed using my computer. To do this, cut another owl card on lighter paper and cut it in half with scissors. You will need to use the right half to print the sentiment. Take note of the length and width of your shape so that your text doesn’t overflow and get cut off. I use a plain sheet of copy paper first to test how it will print and adjust as needed. Once I am happy with the result, I line up the shape on the back side of the copy paper and tape it down on a few edges. Then just run it back through your printer so that the text prints on the shape. Peel off the tape and adhere the sentiment to your card base. Sometimes when I’m lining up a shape on the back side of copy paper I forget to flip the shape when actually taping it down. Keep this in mind so that the text prints on the side you want.

Thanks for taking a look! Any opinions (negative or positive) are welcome :).

~Vanessa

2 thoughts on “Autumn Owl Birthday Card with Envelope

  1. I think he’s pretty cute!!! I love the button eyes and the tree on the envelope is great! The leaf belt buckle is perfect for fall. Your inside sentiment “Greetings Wise One” is fantastic! I’m sure your brother-in-law will love it!!! Have a super weekend!!!! ~Sophia

    • Hi Sophia! Thanks for the encouraging words! ๐Ÿ™‚ I really wanted to use this owl shape for autumn and my vision was different than the way it turned out so that might be why I’m not ecstatic about it but overall it was fun putting it together. I think I was trying too hard making it both an autumn and masculine card. Masculine cards are so tough for me! ๐Ÿ™‚ I like the tree on the envelope a lot because of the autumn leaves on the paper. It looks like the leaves have changed color and some fell to the “grass” covering it in autumn leaves. This was also the first time I’ve used a slider but I like the added detail and it allowed me to use ribbon for a male without a bow! LOL ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks again for your comments! I appreciate the support! Have a wonderful weekend too!!! ~Vanessa

What are your thoughts?

