Nautical Birthday Wishes

This card is for my dear brother-in-law (BIL) who is celebrating a birthday very soon! I usually struggle with masculine cards but the rustic card base, color scheme, and sailboat image helped me pull this one together without too much fuss! πŸ™‚ I hope my BIL likes it! I usually get wordy in my descriptions because I use my blog as a journal describing how I made a card or why I did something a certain way; so if you are interested, more details follow below. If not, here are some pictures of the card and envelope. πŸ™‚

To help with the masculine feeling, I used Colorbok’s 12×12 patterned paper called “French Prep”. I bought this lovely paper from Wal-mart for only $5.00! I find myself promoting Colorbok quite a bit in my posts but I’m always excited to find paper at a reasonable price. (I’m not endorsed by any companies – I’m just a lover of good deals). The textured kraft and chocolate cardstocks are from Wausau’s 12×12 Creative Collection called “Mocha Mix” which can be bought at Amazon for around $6.00.

I used three Cricut cartridges for the overall card and envelope.Β The cute sailboat is cut from “Just Because Cards” at 2 inches. The card base and envelope are cut from “Wild Card” at 4 3/4 inches. The card’s frame layers are also cut at 4 3/4 inches using “French Prep” papers. I improvised on the four corners of one of the frames due to a stamping mishap. I had already cut it once in striped paper, put little brads in the frame’s hole cut-outs, and adhered it… but then I had a stamping incident ~ I wanted to add my BIL’s birthday date to the right side of the card, so I used my K&Company Smash Date Stamp but a very noticeable smudge landed on the frame! So I cut the frame again in chocolate cardstock and cut off the four squared corners to glue them on top of the striped frame. I had to push the chocolate squares with the hole cut-outs over the brads since they were already adhered to the card through the striped paper! It turned out to be a happy mistake because I like the brown contrast with the light blues and tans. And even the paper smushed over the brads kinda makes it look like brown leather.Β I embellished the sailboat with Baby Blue Liquid Pearls and raised the boat up using foam dimensionals. I also “aged” the card’s rough edge using brown ink and a sponge dauber.

The frame on the inside of the card is cut at 2 inches using “Potpourri Basket”. It’s the shadow feature for the “Welcome” sign in case anyone has this cartridge. I used two rub-ons in white ink for the birthday greeting.

Thanks for checking out my card!

~Vanessa

10 thoughts on “Nautical Birthday Wishes

    • Hi Arin! Thanks for checking it out! I struggle with masculine cards quite a bit! Luckily I had some paper that fit the bill and I found that little sailboat on JBC. I noticed I use tans, browns, and light blues quite a bit when making masculine cards! πŸ™‚ It must be my comfort zone! lol ~V

What are your thoughts?

