A Truck Load of Happiness and Love

My dear husband celebrated a birthday recently so I made him a truck-shaped card from Cricut’s “Just Because Cards”. My husband loves all things Ford and this truck reminds me of a 1939 Ford Pick-Up truck. Luckily, he thought it did too and he loved it!

To make the truck-shaped card, I used Cricut’s Design Studio to weld two 8 inch truck shadows together (flipping one). I then cut the truck layers twice at 8 inches (flipping one set of layers) so that the completed truck could be seen from both sides. The patterned cardstock is from one of my favorite stacks called “Linen Closet” by Die Cuts With a View (DCWV).

I typed and printed the sentiment using my computer and added light blue brads to the wheels.  I also raised the fenders with foam dimensionals. The envelope is cut at 7.5 inches from “Just Because Cards” using some more Linen Closet paper.  Since this patterned cardstock has some weight to it, my adhesive tape runner wasn’t strong enough to keep the sides of the envelope from popping open. Luckily, I had a roll of Scor-Tape and this did the trick. This tape is also great for making little gift boxes. I ordered mine from Amazon in the 1/4 inch size. To seal the envelope, I used a glue-dot which makes it easy to open and close again.

Here is a picture of the cake I made him. He loves carrot cake with homemade cream cheese icing. He had this for his birthday last year and requested it again. The icing recipe can be found at this post: Cream Cheese Frosting Saves the Cake! I still haven’t gotten the hang of decorating cakes but I still like to try! Practice makes perfect :).

~Vanessa

8 thoughts on “A Truck Load of Happiness and Love

    • Thanks so much Michele! I too have trouble with masculine cards (can’t use ribbon, bling, and flowers 🙂 ). The Linen Closet paper helped a lot with this one and of course the truck image. Thanks for the lovely visit and comment! ~Vanessa

  1. Fantastic card Vanessa!!! I think it looks like an old Ford too. I love how you did the detailing on both sides. Looks great!!! Wow, what a cake!!! Homemade carrot cakes are the best. Especially with the cream cheese frosting. Thanks for the recipe! Wishing your hubby a very Happy Birthday!!! ~Sophia

    • Hi Sophia! Thanks for the lovely comment! Glen had a wonderful birthday and he really enjoyed the cake and card. I wanted to detail both sides of the card so that he could put it on his desk as a little keepsake. For the cake, I used a Duncan Hines Classic Carrot cake mix that came with a pouch of real carrots and raisins that you rehydrate. It was so moist and went well with the homemade icing. I like the icing recipe because it tastes like cheese cake – not too sweet but just enough. Thanks for the lovely visit! Hope you are doing well! ~Vanessa

    • Hi Florence! Thanks as always for the lovely visit! I need to get caught up on checking out your blog as well. I’ve been missing in action a bit lately. Thanks for the lovely comments, especially on the cake decorating :)! I’m still trying to get the hang of icing cakes and I appreciate the encouraging support! ~Vanessa

What are your thoughts?

