A Birthday Celebration for My Sister

Over the weekend, my family got to celebrate my lovely sister’s 43rd birthday! We had a fun evening filled with good food and laughter. We enjoyed a delicious cake from our local bakery decorated in pink and orange roses, which also matched the napkins and roses on the table.

And here is the “ice cream cone” birthday card I made for her. The card base and the shimmery pink mat were cut from Just Because Cards at 7 inches. I used small pearl embellishments to highlight the mat against the 4 1/2 x 6 1/2 kraft paper. I then added “Happy Birthday” paper trimmed to fit on top of the pink frame.

I cut the “vanilla” ice cream and cone at 4 inches from Straight from the Nest. The cone is embossed with a Sizzix Damask folder and highlighted with brown ink. I also inked the edges of the vanilla ice cream and embossed it with a Cuttlebug D’vine Swirls folder. The swirls are highlighted with Stardust stickles. I found some left over number beads in my stash and thought it would be cute to incorporate her birthday age into the card as a keepsake. I used a white gel pen to add faux stitching around the mat and to add light reflection to the cherry. The card is finished with a bow and button.

The envelope was cut from Just Because Cards at 7 inches using the same cardstock as the card base (white with flecks of color). I used a Happy Birthday rub-on for the envelope.

6 thoughts on “A Birthday Celebration for My Sister

  1. Beautiful card Vanessa!!! Love the embossing on the ice cream and cone. Looks great! Your design is fantastic!!! Absolutely love it and I’m sure youre sister did too! Her roses are just stunning. Looks like she had a very nice birthday party. All the best ~Sophia

    • Hi Sophia! Thanks so much for the awesome comment! I haven’t been able to craft and blog lately due to it being busy here but I managed to get my sister’s card made and do this post! I can’t believe it’s been a month with no blogging! 🙂 I’ve seen some nice creations of yours come in my ‘mailbox’ and I’m headed to your site next! Thanks as always for visiting! ~Vanessa

  2. this is an amazing card and I may have to check Sizzix folders. I love the detail and the little numbers! Do you use your Cuttlebug with the sizzix folder? If so, what plates and how many of them do you need to use them?

    • Hello again! Thanks for checking out my card and for the lovely comment! I actually use a Sizzix Texture Boutique. I got it from Amazon two Christmases ago for $28. It only embosses (no die-cutting like the Cuttlebug). The Sizzix Texture Boutique works with Sizzix or Cuttlebug embossing folders as long as they are A2 and smaller. The Boutique machine is light blue and looks like a little purse! It only uses two plates and a plastic sheet for padding. I have read that others have used Sizzix folders in their Cuttlebug with nice results. My fellow blogging friend, Sophia, at just4crafters.com has a tip page that lists a topic: “Cuttlebug Versatility” that links to a nice chart showing what pads to use in the Cuttlebug machine when using various folders from other companies. Here is Sophia’s link: http://just4crafters.com/tips/. Thanks again for stopping by! ~Vanessa

What are your thoughts?

