Not quite ambidextrous but…

So I’ve had a revelation about myself.  Recently, I noticed myself cutting vegetables with a butcher knife and it was my right hand wielding the blade. Please don’t ask why it took so long to realize this after the many years I’ve been cooking! For most people, using a knife with a right hand is not strange at all since a lot of people are right-handed. Well, I’m left-handed. It’s true that I’ve known for a long time that I use scissors with my right hand; but, I never put much thought into what other things I did with my right versus my left until the “butcher knife awareness event”. So I started thinking back on all the activities I’ve ever done and have concluded that I do more everyday things with my right hand than my left, but yet I’m considered left-handed because of two primary activities: eating and writing.

I feel a chart is needed to explain my unusual quirkiness concerning my choice of hands so please refer to the one below. When I looked this list over, I first thought that all things done with precision are done with my left hand, but what makes this statement untrue is the fact that I only use scissors with my right hand. I can’t cut paper at all with my left. And in sports, precision is just as important and I use my right hand for all things sports-related. It looks like precision-related items fill both columns.

According to Merriam-Webster’s definition of ambidextrous (http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/ambidextrous), you have to be able to use both hands with equal ease. Well, that’s a little ambiguous to me. Does this mean I have to be able to cut with scissors using both hands at the same level of skill? Or does it mean using hands interchangeably but for different tasks? So if I’m not ambidextrous, then what am I? For now, clueless and curious…

If by some chance, I ever broke my left hand, I at least can write with my right hand in a passable manner. I used to practice when I was younger because of my earlier obsession with this hand issue. It’s not an obsession anymore, but rather a quirkiness that makes me “me” and that’s alright.

17 thoughts on “Not quite ambidextrous but…

  1. Comedian Kathleen Maddigan says that learning to write with her other hand is her financial planning. If she has a stroke she can sign the checks with her other hand. It doesn’t matter how much money you have saved if you can’t sign the checks!

  2. Hi Vanessa. How curious is that! Out of interest have you ever tried applying makeup with your right hand. You would think for the activities that needed more precision you would automatically use your left hand.
    Thank you Vanessa for visiting my blog and for your lovely comments.
    Regards Florence x

    • Hi Florence! Thanks for stopping by again! My lefty vs. righty thing is indeed strange to me. I have put on foundation with my right hand and it didn’t feel awkward but anything like holding a pencil such as an eye shadow brush, mascara, or lipstick is always done with my left hand. It is odd to me that I can’t use scissors with my left. I literally can’t hold them properly to cut a sheet of paper. It just bends the paper over with no cutting. I remember in elementary school having teachers that always handed me right handed scissors and one time I asked for lefty ones and it caused a stir and the teacher put me on the spot which I didn’t like. 🙂 I must have learned to adapt and be like the other kids. And as I went through older grades where you are no longer sitting at low rectangle tables but you have your own desk, I would again be put on the spot when the teacher had to flag down a desk made for a left-handed student. So in my younger years, I guess there were moments of discomfort but now I guess I take pride in being left-handed with the added ability to do things well with my right. I really enjoyed your blog and will be visiting often! Have a great rest of the weekend! ~Vanessa

  3. I admire you for being able to use both hands. I can only use my right for everything. I was told people who use both right and left hands are smarter and talented. I think it is true. Love the graph. Thanks for sharing and for the recent comment. Have a great day.

    • Hi Island Traveler, thanks for checking out my post and for the nice comment! Sometimes, I feel a bit odd using both hands for different things, but I guess it can be looked at as being unique which isn’t a bad thing. 🙂 The graph helped me realize just how perplexing my choice of hands is. The older generations of my family actually looked down on left-handed people. This was borne out of superstition and perhaps a bit of loving ignorance. As a child being corrected by older members of the family, I think it added to the need to use my right hand more than I normally would have growing up, thus causing this internal struggle of which hand to use. So it’s interesting – not sure if it was nature vs. nurture or a mix of both. But whichever, it makes for an interesting conversation. Thanks as always for stopping by! Loved your post about your trip to visit your family! Hope you have a wonderful, memorable time and can’t wait to see your beautiful photos! ~Vanessa

  4. Vanessa, I would love to be ambidextrous. The only thing I can do ambi is if I hold a pen or pencil in my hand to write and then place another pen or pencil in my left hand I can mirror exactly what I am writing with my right hand. Strange I know and I wanted to thank you for stopping by my blog! Much appreciation.

  5. Hi Vanessa! It’s funny that you just now noticed this. I also do things with both hands. It’s great for multi tasking – isn’t it!?! Have a wonderful afternoon. ~Sophia

    • I know! 🙂 I don’t know why it took so long to take note of what hand I cut vegetables with. We do so many things by habit I guess. :). That’s great to hear you use both hands too! It is great for multi-tasking so that’s always a good thing! Thanks for the visit and the comment! Hope you are doing good! ~Vanessa

  6. No. WAY.
    I have never ‘met’ anyone like this I’m almost exactly like this except I brush my teeth with my left and cross-stitch with the left as well. Glad to know someone else with such wierd ‘handed-ness’, haha 🙂

    • Hi Scarlett, that’s neat you’re the same way. Welcome to the weird handed-ness club! 🙂 It makes us unique. It sounds like Sophia is the same way – maybe a lot of creative people have this ability! I will start looking at this with pride. LOL Thanks for stopping by! Hope you’re having a great week. I need to stop by your blog as I’ve seen some nice posts coming through my mailbox. 🙂 Take care! ~Vanessa

  7. I have to tell you I pretty much have the same gift. How many people do you know that can do crossword puzzles while eating. Didn’t know I shot pool left handed until someone pointed out to me. Now my excuse for shooting bad is because there are no left handed pool sticks. I can throw darts with either hand, but have to throw a couple times to find out which one is better ( don’t play much). I play baseball like a right handed person. Most impressive is I can say my alphabet backwards at any given time quickly. Bad thing is my sense in direction sucks. I have to think about which way is right and left.

What are your thoughts?

