Masculine Nature Card

With the arrival of Spring comes this nature-inspired card that plays with shading and the notion that sometimes less is more. I used Craft-T Chalks and a clear embossing pen to achieve this water color effect. These particular chalks aren’t permanent but there are some advantages when using a clear embossing pen. The embossing pen acts as a chalk enhancer which adds depth to the colors, creates a water color effect, and seals the chalk for a no-smudge card. And most importantly, the non-permanent chalk allows me to erase mistakes with a standard pencil eraser. I still want to get my hands on permanent chalk but I digress!

If you would like to try this method, here are some tips.  Emboss your cardstock with an embossing folder of your choice and then color in the embossed sections with a clear embossing pen (I use Rangers Inkssentials). Work in small sections so that the paper is still damp to accept your chalk. If you don’t want to damage your chalk applicators, use Q-tips to work in the colors. For the grass, I applied two shades of green to one Q-tip (one color next to the other) so that I could blend them together effortlessly. This adds more depth to the grass. Don’t worry if you get chalk powder over the un-embossed, dry parts of your paper. A quick erase using a standard pencil eraser cleans up the unwanted “coloring outside of the lines”.

Card Supplies

  • Cuttlebug “Bird Call” Embossing Folder
  • Clear Embossing Pen
  • Q-tips
  • Craft-T Chalks (turquoise, dark green, lime green)
  • Pencil Eraser
  • Cardstock (cream, brown, kraft)
  • Twine
  • Button
  • Adhesive Tape Runner
  • Dimensionals (foam tape)
6 thoughts on “Masculine Nature Card

    • Hi Lindsay, thanks for visiting and for the lovely comment! I love the natural colors of the card and twine since the embossed image evokes thoughts of nature. Hope you had a lovely weekend! Thanks for stopping by! ~Vanessa

    • Hi Sophia! Thanks for the lovely comment. I still haven’t gotten my hands on permanent chalk but my husband got me this set of Craft-T chalks for Christmas. It has 24 colors which allows for a better choice of blending, instead of relying on my 8 box of Crayola ones! These colors are deeper and easier to apply than the method I was using. Since the embossing pen sets them as permanent, this will work for now. I enjoy experimenting and will probably do more of these embossed colorings in the future. Thanks for the visit! It’s always nice hearing from you! ~Vanessa

What are your thoughts?

