Happy St. Patrick’s Day Card – Clovers with Rainbow Inspired Background

Here is a fun, bright St. Patty’s Day card using the lucky four leaf clover image from “Designer’s Calendar”. This card was trial and error admittedly but I like the end results. I scoured my 15 cartridges looking for a rainbow and unhappily realized I didn’t have one! So I changed course and decided to get creative and cut rainbow-colored strips using scrap paper and a paper trimmer. The strips are 1/4 inch wide and 4.25 inches long to fit an A2 sized card (4.25 x 5.5). I adhered the strips to white cardstock using an adhesive tape runner – adhering one strip at a time while trying to line them up evenly and close to one another. Once that was done, I used purple ink to stamp “Smile” in the upper left hand corner. I then ran the entire thing through my Sizzix embossing machine using a Cuttlebug Swiss Dots folder. I took a chance because the strips added an extra layer of paper to the white cardstock and I wasn’t sure it would turn out well, but luckily it did. So now I’ve learned a new method! 🙂 The clover images were cut at 2.5, 2, and 1 inches and are placed as if they are “falling from the sky” down the front of the card. There is a shadow layer glued directly to the card, and then a top clover that’s embossed with the same Swiss Dots folder and raised up with dimensionals (foam tape from Michael’s). Buttons and jewelry cord finish the look. For the inside, I cut sentiments from “Straight from the Nest” (Happy) and “Designer’s Calendar” (St. Patrick’s Day). I used a corner rounder punch on the top corners of the white mats and the light green card base.

Tip: For anyone wondering how the buttons were adhered, I used glossy accents on the smaller buttons because it helped the jewelry cord stay in place. Jewelry cord is rather thick and doesn’t knot well so I threaded the front of a two-hole button and then trimmed the ends that stuck out at the back of the button. Since I was not going to knot the cord in place, I used glossy accents and my fingers to flatten and glue the ends to the button. Then I dabbed on more glossy accents to the back of the button and glued it to the clover. The larger button allowed me to just tie a bow with the jewelry cord. The back was flat enough to be popped up on the clover using a large circle dimensional. After this experience, I want to buy embroidery floss the next time I’m at a craft store! It would make threading and adhering buttons so much easier!

Thanks for looking!

Vanessa

6 thoughts on “Happy St. Patrick’s Day Card – Clovers with Rainbow Inspired Background

  1. My friend, Happy St. Patrick’s Day. Love the card. Beautiful, joyful, just perfect. The colors are light to the eyes and heart…and the card simply say, ” You’re special.” Thank you and God bless you always…

    • Hi Island Traveler, it’s such a joy when you stop by. Happy St. Patrick’s Day to you as well! And thank you for the wonderful comment! Blessings to you and your family! I hope you all have a Happy Spring! ~Vanessa

    • Thanks so much Lindsay! I had a lot of fun with this card, experimenting all the way. It turned out better than I thought it would and it’s now one of my favorite cards. Thanks for stopping by! Looking forward to seeing you around on your site too! You have lovely creations! ~Vanessa

What are your thoughts?

