Filigree Take 2 – Straight from the Nest

Hello again! I’m here with two more cards using the filigree image from the “Straight from the Nest” cartridge. For this round, I cut the filigree layer in brown cardstock and overlayed it on brightly colored mats (hot pink and lime green). I think I like this method better rather than cutting the filigree in the brightly colored paper. I also changed the direction of the 5×5 card’s opening, making it open vertically instead of horizontally. This card can be altered to any one’s desire using more mats, ribbon, buttons, or leaving it plain. For the pink card, I applied the 4.5 inch brown filigree image over a 4.5 inch pink mat but then decided to add another 4.75 inch mat to the back of this to give it a framed look. It also adds a nice weight to the overall card with the extra layer. The green card’s filigree matted layer is popped up with dimensionals to make it pop off from the card base. I added ribbon and then hand stitched a button to the center of the card (which was no easy task since the ribbon and cardstock proved tough to put a needle through) :).

The blue and brown card I previously posted cut decently except for one tiny tear in the filigree image; but, since I had two more to cut today, I decided to change my Cricut’s settings to: Blade 6, Speed 3 (medium), Pressure 5 (max). This worked beautifully as you can see in the picture below. All of the papers used are regular cardstock from Wal-Mart and Hobby Lobby in 8/12 x 11 sheets. I believe the only real change was to the speed (from fast to medium) which allowed the intricate details to cut more cleaner with no tears at all. To apply adhesive to intricate cuts, I rely on my favorite Zig 2 Way Glue Pen (pic below).

Thanks for looking!

Vanessa

4 thoughts on “Filigree Take 2 – Straight from the Nest

  1. Hi Vanessa! Love the cards!!! The filigree cut is so beautiful and elegant. I love the bright backgrounds. I had the same problem with some of the intricate Cricut cuts so I also lowered my speed. This helped greatly. Have a wonderful afternoon! ~Sophia

    • Hi Sophia! Thanks for the lovely comments. I love this cut too and was inspired by two things: my love for brown contrasted with other colors, and the feeling of Spring in the air! Hence the bright colors :)! Yep, lowering the speed seems to be the key with the more involved cuts so I will have to remember this for next time. That’s one of the cool things of having a blog – it can serve as an online notebook of tips and tricks to help me remember how I did something! 🙂 Hope you have a wonderful evening! Take care! Vanessa

  2. I really love the cards. I’m glad I’m finishing high school soon so I’ll have plenty of time to try my hands at stuff like this. Your blog is lovely. I’ll be back again.

    • Thank you so much! I too enjoy your blog and look forward to seeing more of your writing! I wish you all the best in your last months of high school. Those were some of the best times of my life and I look back on it fondly. I can’t believe it’s been 20 years since then! UGH! 🙂 I don’t feel like I’m supposed to be this old :). Thank you for your lovely comments and I’ll be seeing you around soon! ~Vanessa

What are your thoughts?

