Filigree Thank You Card – Straight from the Nest

I ventured into my craft room tonight for the first time in a while and it felt good making cards again! This card features a filigree cut using the “Straight from the Nest” cartridge that I got for Christmas. I chose the filigree image on page 73 cut at 4 1/2 inches in turquoise cardstock. This is adhered to a brown square card base cut at 5 inches from “Walk in My Garden”. The inside mat is cut at 4 1/2 inches (SFTN page 73).

I embellished the card with flowers from Michael’s dollar bin and used two light blue brads which I highlighted with Liquid Pearls (baby blue and white opal) to make the brads pop a bit. I hand cut the tag in white cardstock and used a Thank You rub-on for the sentiment.

This was a quick and easy card to make. The only effort involved was making sure my paper adhered well to the mat and that my blade was sharp enough to cut out the intricate details of the filigree image. I cut this out once because even though there was one area that tore a bit, my Zig 2-Way glue pen glued everything down perfectly and you can hardly see the tear. I love the combination of brown with blue, but other nice color variations are brown with pink or light green.

Thanks for looking!

Vanessa

4 thoughts on “Filigree Thank You Card – Straight from the Nest

  1. I love this card Vanessa! Any advice on settings for these type of intricate cuts? I’m still a newby and get irritated when the paper tears. Guess I need more patience LOL

    • Hi Kim! I get irritated too! 🙂 Especially when it’s quality paper and you don’t want to waste it on a bad cut. Joy at “Obsessed with Scrapbooking” offers a chart that lists blade, pressure, and speed settings depending on the type of paper you are using. I have used this chart for a while now and it’s very helpful! Here is the link: http://www.obsessedwithscrapbooking.com/2009/05/cricut-settings-table.html. To download her chart, click on “HERE!” found at the end of her post. You can then save it to your computer and print it out. Hope this helps and thanks for stopping by!!! 🙂 Take care, Vanessa

What are your thoughts?

