An Answered Prayer

It’s been a month since my last post but yet it seems like yesterday we heard the news that my father needed open heart surgery. He had a heart catheterization done in mid-January and by early February he was scheduled for surgery to replace his aortic heart valve. After consulting with his surgeon, Dad also learned he needed to have a by-pass done to improve blood flow to his heart. Knowing the seriousness of this type of surgery, Dad chose to have it completed at Tampa General. We stayed with my sister and brother-in-law and were able to commute to the hospital each day while Dad recovered. The surgery was successful and with relief and gratitude I can report that he is recovering and doing very well.

It’s times like these that show the power of family and the love and support they have for each other. Prayers were answered and blessings were bestowed. I spent a lot of time thinking of family memories and praying that we would be able to have more. It really puts living each day to the fullest in the forefront of one’s mind. I thank God for answering my prayer for Dad’s successful recovery and allowing us more time to spend with him and Mom. I also thank our supportive extended families and my sister’s husband and my husband for their loving support during this difficult time. It’s getting better and Dad’s improving each day. His doctor said that before the surgery he was on the edge of a cliff and it was a matter of time before he went over. And now, with the replacement valve and by-pass, he has gained another 25 years! With heartfelt appreciation I thank Dr. Sheffield, the gifted cardiac surgeon, and the wonderful staff at Tampa General who treated my father with caring hands.

Blessings to you and your families.

~Vanessa

2 thoughts on “An Answered Prayer

  1. Vanessa, I’m sorry to hear that your Dad was having heart problems but I am so happy that everything is going well for him now. I wish him all the best and a speedy recovery. ~Sophia

    • Thank you Sophia for the well wishes. I appreciate your support. It’s been a tough month but things are looking up and Dad is feeling better each day. We are blessed with his successful surgery and his recovery and I really appreciate your kind words. Take care! ~Vanessa

What are your thoughts?

