Candy Canes and a Wreath Card

Hi all! This is an A2 sized Christmas card using Sizzix’s Wreath embossing folder (from the Birds of a Feather & Wreath set). I colored in the embossed image with Bic’s red and green fine tip permanent markers (don’t have any Copics yet :)). Then I applied Glossy Accents to the colored image and waited for it to dry. I added adhesive pearls in two sizes to the leaves. The candy canes were cut using Cricut’s Christmas Village cartridge. I flipped one of the candy canes and cut them in alternating colors. Since the Christmas Village cartridge doesn’t have any layering options, I used Design Studio to hide the contour lines of two canes to get a solid color (one white, one red). I then cut two unaltered canes so that the “holes” would cut out (one red, one white). After I adhered the layers together, I ran them through a Cuttlebug Swiss Dots folder. I crisscrossed the canes with some adhesive and then added a double loop bow in green Christmas ribbon. I made the bow using my homemade version of a “Bow Easy”. I adhered the candy canes to the card using dimensional foam tape. The cream cardstock was also trimmed on the corners using a corner rounder punch before being adhered to the red card base.

4 thoughts on “Candy Canes and a Wreath Card

  1. Vanessa, you’re on a roll with your cards! All are very beautiful!!! I like how you applied the markers and Glossy Accents. It looks fantastic!!! I’m going to give this a try. Thanks for sharing all of your ideas and techniques!!! ~Sophia

    • Thanks Sophia! I think I am finally caught up with Christmas cards and shopping! It’s been a whirlwind. Thanks for your lovely comment. The markers worked out pretty good – luckily they were fine point and it made it easier to color in the embossed image. I had to be careful with the glossy accents too but I just took my time and it worked out well. I had to let it sit for a while to completely dry and it’s neat how shiny it is even when it’s dry! I love glossy accents! Hope you are having a wonderful holiday season! Take care! Vanessa

    • Thanks Lindsay! I made this card for my sister and her husband. They loved it which made me happy 🙂 and is what makes card making so much fun – to make a handmade item to give to someone who truly appreciates it. I hope you had a wonderful Christmas! ~Vanessa

What are your thoughts?

