A Quiet Autumn Scene – Thanksgiving Card

I wanted to capture an autumn scene and show the beauty that this wonderful season offers.  This card is dedicated to my husband, Glen in honor of our wonderful Thanksgivings together and the ones to come.

Cartridges used:

Bloom, Designer’s Calendar, Pagoda, Storybook, and Wild Card

Papers Used:

My Mind’s Eye Simply Delightful (colored paper), Wal-Mart card stock (card base), Paper Studio’s Natural Botanical card stock (brown paper)

Embellishments:

Swiss Dots Cuttlebug Folder; Inking using Stampabilities brown ink; Shading using a brown colored pencil

I made a 5×7 card base, then trimmed light blue paper to 5×7 and adhered it to the front of the card. Next I cut a 5×7 mat of light green paper and used a pencil to sketch hills.  I used scissors to cut around each hill, embossed them with a Swiss Dots folder, then inked the edges with brown ink and a Q-tip for definition.  I then adhered the hill pieces to the blue mat fitting them like a puzzle.  I cut the “Bloom” tree trunks (both kinds on the cartridge) at 3 inches using brown card stock and cut one layer of leaves in orange paper for the larger tree.  I cut extra leaves in orange paper at 4 inches so they would appear larger as they fell to the ground and could be used on the other trees.  The pumpkins are cut at 2 inches from Designer’s Calendar.  I used a brown colored pencil to color in the stem and make ridges in the pumpkin.  I also applied a bit of ink over these for more dimension. The bridge is cut from Pagoda at 1 1/2 inches.  The inside sentiment was done on my computer using Edwardian Script. I cut a 1 inch owl from Storybook and some maple leaves from Wild Card at 3 and 1 inches.

4 thoughts on “A Quiet Autumn Scene – Thanksgiving Card

    • Hi Sophia! Thanks so much for the lovely feedback! I have fallen in love with this card and as you know I love Fall. I have thought about framing this card to hang on the wall for future autumn seasons. I’m tickled with how the lighter shades of paper from My Mind’s Eye adds the look of a cool, crisp Autumn day. I’m starting to see the wonderful effects of shading too – I can see that it adds depth making it look more realistic. I want to keep exploring this and get better at the technique. Thanks for stopping by! Take care! ~Vanessa

What are your thoughts?

