What I’m Thankful For…

Thanksgiving is fast approaching.  I can remember with fondness the old movie reels my school would play for the students that taught us the history of the first feast between the Pilgrims and Native Americans.  I know there has been controversy of how that first meal really happened or why, but I would like to think that it was a joyous and peaceful time of sharing in a meal of thanks giving. Other school films featured scenes of nature and turkeys in the wild and the footage looked like it was taken in the 1970s.  I miss those films because it was representative of a more innocent time for a young girl such as I that looked at everything with rose-colored glasses.  I wish there were more films made for Thanksgiving.  It seems that songs and films are lacking in this area.  Other than cartoons such as “Charlie Brown” and “Pocahontas”, only two movies stick out in my mind that center around this holiday: “Home for the Holidays” featuring Holly Hunter and “Planes, Trains, & Automobiles” featuring John Candy and Steve Martin.  I am sure there are others, but overall there just doesn’t seem to be a lot of well-known movies focusing on this season of gratitude.

So when I think of happy memories of Thanksgiving I think of those old reel-to-reel movies and the feeling of excitement as the movie projector clicked away with the lights turned off in the classroom. Such a simple memory… I also have fond memories of gathering together with family that we hadn’t seen in a year. We would come home for the holidays, whether it was for Thanksgiving or Christmas.  All of my grandparents are now gone from this world but I still think of them and the wonderful times we had gathering at their homes for the holidays.  I miss my grandmothers’ home-made turkey dressing and their sweet potato casseroles.  I miss the enjoyment they had from having their children and grandchildren gather together for a time of celebration.  But I am thankful for the memories.

I am also thankful for my dear husband, my family and friends, my three adorable cats who are like my children, and I am grateful to God for his mercy and love.  I would like to extend my appreciation to others who live their lives in a gracious and kind manner.  I would also like to share my gratitude to my readers and hope you and your family have a wonderful and blessed Thanksgiving. I pray for peace, love, and understanding for the whole world.

Psalm 100

Make a joyful noise unto the LORD, all ye lands.

Serve the LORD with gladness: come before his presence with singing.

Know ye that the LORD he is God: it is he that hath made us, and not we ourselves; we are his people, and the sheep of his pasture.

Enter into his gates with thanksgiving, and into his courts with praise: be thankful unto him, and bless his name.

For the LORD is good; his mercy is everlasting; and his truth endureth to all generations.

3 thoughts on “What I’m Thankful For…

  1. Pingback: 102 Reasons To Be Thankful | this man's journey
  2. Hi Sis, I miss the simpler times as well. Thankfully, we do have some very nice memories to fall back on when it comes to the holidays. I sure miss Grandmother J. – especially during this time of the year.

    Today, we spent time with family in North Port and had a wonderful meal. It was nice to see everyone. Wish you guys could have been with us. I hope you guys had a lovely day as well.

    I bet your hubby really liked his card. Great job as always!

    Love,

    Paula Ann

  3. Hi Paula! I’m happy to hear that you all had a wonderful Thanksgiving there in Florida! Glen and I had a lovely day as well. Our meal turned out wonderfully – I made Green Bean Casserole, Mashed Potatoes with Gravy, Stuffing, Corn, Yeast Rolls, and Pumpkin Pie. Oh, I can’t forget my favorite Ocean Spray Cranberry Sauce! And Glen did an excellent job with the turkey. It was so tender and his seasoning was delicious. He loved his card 🙂 so that made me happy! Thanks for the support!

    I miss Grandmother J. too… it’s just not the same without her. I guess it’s time for us to start our own memories, our own traditions. It was great talking to you this morning and I’m glad to hear you all had a lovely holiday meal and a great time visiting together! Miss you sis!

    Love,
    Vanessa

What are your thoughts?

