Hobby Lobby Haul (Some Great Deals)

Just wanted to share some great deals I got at Hobby Lobby on Saturday, 10/29/11.  They were offering scrapbooking paper (single sheets, paper stacks, card stock pads, etc.) for 50% off.  What normally would have cost me $80.00 for 4 pads only cost me $40.00!  I bought 2 Christmas card stock pads (“Ornamental Christmas” by Paper Studio and “O Christmas Tree” by My Mind’s Eye), one Autumn card stock pad called “Natural Botanical” by Paper Studio, and an “All Seasons II” paper pad also by Paper Studio which has 180 sheets of patterned paper for all of the major holidays!  The card stock pads have between 54 and 60 sheets per pad.  These are heavier grade and some have glittery details, thus less sheets for the price but still not a bad deal with the 50% off sale.  The Paper Studio products are made by Hobby Lobby and have a nice quality and design.

The 50% off scrapbooking sale was held October 24-29.  I am sure Hobby Lobby will have more sales of this nature each month so keep an eye out.  I find it helpful to visit their website to check out their weekly coupons and sales ads: http://www.hobbylobby.com/weekly/weekly.cfm.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I also bought 3 sets of 8 1/2 x 11 card stock (Paper Studio) in Christmas, Kraft, and Earth Tone colors which I plan to use for my Thanksgiving and Christmas card bases.  With 50% off, these were only $1.99 per 50 sheet pack.  Not bad totaling 150 sheets for $6.00!

I am also tickled with what I found in the clearance section at the very back of the store.  I found two cartridges that have been out for two years and I guess they were marked on clearance because of their age.  I got Designer’s Calendar and Pagoda for $25.19 each.  I know these two have been around a while but that doesn’t matter to me.  The original price for Designer’s Calendar and Pagoda was $69.99 (I peeled back the clearance price to see how much I saved 🙂 ).  So I look at it as saving $90.00 and gaining two fully packed “shapes” cartridges, with one including a font and the other including a card feature.  The discounted price of $25.19 is about what I spent for a Cricut Lite cartridge last month at Wal-mart when it finally went on sale from $39 to $20.  The Lites aren’t full cartridges, meaning you have less images and less layering options.  My cartridge collection is slowly growing and with these two new ones, I now have 10!  For now, this is enough for me, since I have yet to fully utilize most of them.  But I am sure, I will find myself longing for another one, especially if it’s on sale! 🙂

MY CARTRIDGE LIBRARY

Walk in My Garden (released October 2006)
Accent Essentials (sold with Cricut Expression bundle circa June 2007)
Camp Out (released March 2008, retired March 3, 2011)
Storybook (released July 2008)
Wild Card (released October 2008)
Designer’s Calendar (released September 2009)
Pagoda (released October 2009)
Bloom (released June 2010)
Christmas Village (released September 2010)
Four Legged Friends (released November 2010)

OTHER PURCHASED ITEMS

I bought a few other items that I wanted to try for the first time as well.  I haven’t been card making for that long so I am still learning as I go.  Sometimes I feel like I am behind in the learning curve when I look at other card maker blogs.  But it’s a hobby and I find great enjoyment from it so it’s ok to go along at my own speed,  LOL.  I have been interested in Glossy Accents and I also wanted to get my first white gel pen, so I did!  I got Glossy Accents, a package of silver, gold, and white gel pens, a jar of red ribbon on clearance (15 yards for $4.79 marked down from $7.99), a “Savior Is Born” Stampabilities wooden block stamp on clearance for $3.23 marked down from $8.99, and a package of pink fabric brads on clearance for $1.07 marked down from $2.99!  I also got another Zig 2 Way glue pen since I have just about used up my other one.  I am a believer in this glue pen!  If you haven’t tried it yet, you should.  It’s perfect for small, detailed images and the adhesive holds well.  It’s perfect for card making and it doesn’t warp your paper like regular glue.  Well, that’s it for now!  I can’t wait to get started on my Thanksgiving cards!

Thanks for looking!

Vanessa

What are your thoughts?

