Vintage Looking Birthday Card for Mom

My mom’s birthday is on Halloween and she has always expressed that she likes to receive regular birthday cards which I can understand since my own birthday is near Christmas. So I made her a vintage looking card using DCWV’s Linen Closet glitter card stock. It looks appropriate for Autumn without using oranges, etc.  I hope she likes it.

The card is A2 sized from Wild Card. I used Design Studio (DS) to size it appropriately and have it cut in the direction I wanted it to fold. I also used DS to weld a frame to the edges of the card and this gave me a scalloped edge. The welded frame also allowed a window to cut out for the sentiment to peer through on the side I wanted. For the other end, I just hid the contour lines so the window wouldn’t cut. Hope this makes sense. The scalloped frame is from Wild Card’s baby carriage card.  I cut two separate frames in coordinating Linen Closet paper to line the front and inside window cut-outs.  I made the flowers from the Bloom cartridge using cuts at 1 inch, 1.5 inches, and 2 inches.  I hole punched each center and used a large brad for the centers of the flowers.  I then added some sparkle to the brads using Star Dust Stickles.  The flowers are popped up using foam tape.  I added layers of Linen Closet glitter card stock to the inside of the card as well, with a tan card stock area for a personal message.

Thanks for looking!

Vanessa

6 thoughts on “Vintage Looking Birthday Card for Mom

  1. So lovely, love the papers and the aperture looks fab, brilliant idea and your bow looks so pretty, I usually end up struggling with mine to try and get them straight but yours looks perfect
    Lindsay xx

    • Hi Sophia, I always enjoy your feedback! I am still learning how to match colors, etc. The Linen Closet card stock really helped pull this card together and I am glad you like the combination of papers. This was truly an experiment and I am glad it turned out well. Thanks for the lovely comment! It encourages me to continue to explore different designs and uses of paper.
      Take care!
      Vanessa

What are your thoughts?

