Halloween Jack-O’-Lantern Card

Here is a cute little jack-o-lantern card from Cricut’s Wild Card cartridge.  I have been eyeing this one for a while but put it off to the last minute.  It’s the only Halloween card I’ve made and I put it in the mail last night to be sent to my sister who lives 5 hours away.  Just thought it would be a cute “hello” from me to her.

All cuts are 5 inches (card details and envelope), except the bat and spider which are cut at 2 inches.

I have noticed around the internet and on the Cricut Message Board that there’s some confusion on how to assemble this to get the black to show up behind the pumpkin carvings.  The easiest method for me was to cut the card twice, once in blackout using black card stock and one in the regular mode showing the carvings for the eyes and mouth in orange card stock.  I then used a paper trimmer to cut off the orange jack-o’-lantern section to lay on top of the solid black pumpkin.

The web was trial and error.  At first I used silver glitter glue but it made the web warped and weak and I didn’t want to wait until morning for it to dry.  So I cut it out again in black card stock (5 inches) and used my Zig 2 Way Glue Pen to completely cover it and then sprinkled on silver glitter.  I shook and thumped the covered web until it was hard to get any more glitter to come off.  Hopefully it will travel well in the mail!

Below is a gallery of more pictures.  Just click on the thumbnails to see a larger version.  I also show how I highlighted the matching envelope using a clear ink embossing pen and chalk.

I entered this in Mary’s Cardz TV challenge: http://cardztv.blogspot.com/2011/10/cardz-tv-cricut-cardz-challenge-94.html.

Thanks for looking!

Vanessa

10 thoughts on “Halloween Jack-O’-Lantern Card

  1. Hi Lindsay, this card was a lot of fun to make and it came from a Cricut Wild Card cartridge so all of the elements for the card were easy to cut. I just had to put it together :). My sister loved the card too so I am glad I made it for her as a little hello! Thanks for checking out my blog!

  2. I was very happy to receive this unique Halloween card. Even my husband was impressed with the card as well as the neatly crafted envelope. The card traveled very well through the mail. Great job, Vanessa! Love, Paula Ann

  3. Hi Paula (Sis) :), I am thrilled you loved the card! Thanks for checking out my blog and leaving such a lovely comment. I always enjoy your visits. I am happy to hear the card traveled well – I was a bit worried about the spider’s web with all that glitter. I had worried thoughts that you would open up the envelope and have glitter fall out onto the floor! LOL That would have been a mess. But I really wanted that web to shine and pop so thank goodness it worked! 🙂 Love, Vanessa

    • Hi Nicole, thanks for checking out my post and leaving such a nice comment! Thank you also for the encouragement to post for future challenges. I plan to do more posting at CCC in the future! Take care! Vanessa

What are your thoughts?

