Paper Pumpkins

I was recently inspired by Linda Kaiser’s blog, “The Paper Boutique”, where she featured 3-D paper pumpkins that she made last year from strips of card stock.  Linda has a great video tutorial that you can check out here: http://paperboutique.blogspot.com/2010/10/how-to-make-3-d-pumpkins-using-card.html.  Written directions can also be found on the Martha Stewart website: http://www.marthastewart.com/271331/paper-pumpkins.  I found both sources to be helpful when attempting my first pumpkin, but Linda’s video offered some handy tips on designing and making three sizes.  I made a large, medium, and small pumpkin using DCWV’s Linen Closet glitter card stock.  Then because I am a traditionalist at heart, I just had to make an orange pumpkin, so I used two-toned orange card stock and alternated the strips’ colors and embossed each one with a Cuttlebug Swiss Dots folder.

I used my Cricut to cut out leaves from the Storybook cartridge and the stem from the Wild Card cartridge.  I used a hot glue gun to adhere these, but you can also use Martha Stewart’s leaf template and her directions for making a stem out of crepe paper.  Martha’s instructions don’t require adhesive because you secure the leaves and stem with brads.

I used the following measurements for 3 sizes of pumpkins:
Small – 12 strips of 6” x 1” card stock (3 inch string length between 2 brads)
Medium – 18 strips of 9” x 1” card stock (4 inch string length between 2 brads)
Large – 24 strips of 12” x 1” card stock (5 inch string length between 2 brads)

Thanks for looking!
Vanessa

3 thoughts on “Paper Pumpkins

  1. Love the pumpkins! The printed cardstock looks great! I love the orange pumpkin with the embossing. It gives it extra texture. I’m going to have to get the Cricut Storybook cartridge, the leaves are fantastic!!! ~Sophia

  2. Thanks Sophia! These pumpkins were a lot of fun to make, especially after I got the hang of it when completing the first one! The rest went quite fast after that. The Storybook cartridge is a nice cartridge with elegant images. The leaves worked really well as pumpkin leaves and I got the idea from Linda Kaiser’s video tutorial listed above. She used these same leaves for her pumpkins.
    Take care!
    Vanessa

  3. Pingback: Paper Pumpkins 2012 | Southern Cricut Lady

What are your thoughts?

