Bountiful Blessings ~ A Thanksgiving Card with Leaf Feet

Lately, I have been experimenting with Thanksgiving cards using Cricut’s Design Studio and the Wild Card cartridge.  This is the first card I would like to share.  It has a simple, clean look and I like how the colors contrast with each other.

I experimented with adding a decorative edge to my card base and I came up with a leaf edge using Design Studio.  I welded maple leaves from Wild Card (pg. 43) at 2 inches to the edges of the card base (flipping the images for the left edge) to serve as decorative feet.  Click the following link to see screen shots of the welding: Autumn Card Idea – Welding a Leaf Edge.

On a side note, if you are looking for a quick A2 sized card (4.25 x 5.5), and you have the Wild Card cartridge, look on pg. 69 for the #1 card.  You can cut it at 5 1/2 inches in blackout (or not if you want the circle cut-out) and it will give you an A2 size.  It also has a corresponding envelope.  Just cut it the same size at 5 1/2 inches.  It’s a perfect size for mailing with no extra postage!  I mentioned this particular card because I used it as my base before welding the maple leaves on the two edges.  The added leaves changed the overall card dimensions but I can easily make the corresponding envelope fit by stretching it in the needed directions using Design Studio.

Next, I cut 10 individual maple leaves at 2 inches out of Cricut’s two-sided orange card stock.  I applied five of these to the card base’s front leaf edge.  I then used the rest for the top of the card and for the inside, turning a few over to reveal the darker orange color for variety.  The leaves adhered to the front card base edge were then outlined in a fine-tip black marker.  Once dried, I applied Stardust Stickles.  I like how the light blues in the glitter pop out and match the light blue card stock.  I used my favorite Cuttlebug folder, Swiss Dots, to emboss the light blue card stock to add some dimension.  The inside sentiment image “Happy Thanksgiving” was cut at 7 inches which is also found on the Wild Card cartridge (pg. 43).

I found the cute little clothes pin at Wal-mart in their craft section and clipped on a leaf so it’s interactive and can be moved around by the recipient.  The ribbon is from American Crafts and the stamped sentiment came from a wood-base rubber stamp I bought at Hobby Lobby last year.  I used Stampabilities brown ink, sprinkled on some clear embossing powder, and then used a heat gun to make it glossy.

I hope you enjoyed this first Thanksgiving card!  I can’t wait to make some more with different designs!

Thanks for looking!

Vanessa

2 thoughts on “Bountiful Blessings ~ A Thanksgiving Card with Leaf Feet

  1. Hi Sophia! How are you? Thanks for stopping by to check out my first Thanksgiving card! I love the ribbon too :). I used it on the autumn paper wreath as well because it has the shimmer and a nice copper color. I had fun playing with the leaf border and I like how it turned out. It’s always fun experimenting. Have a great weekend!

What are your thoughts?

