“Birds of a Feather” Flock Together – 2 Sizzix Embossed Cards for Comparison

Last night I made two A2 size cards (4.25 x 5.5 inches) featuring the Sizzix embossing folder called “Birds of a Feather”.  For the blue thank you card, I embossed the image on the actual card base and didn’t add anything else to the image.  The image is so pretty that it can pretty much stand on its own.  Embellishments from the ribbon, rub-on, and a corner rounder punch finish off the card.   For the pink “Thinking of You” card, I embossed the image on a beige linen mat.  I then “colored” in the image with a clear embossing pen by Ranger Inkssentials, making sure to work on small sections at a time.  I then applied chalk using cotton swabs while the clear ink was still damp.  The clear ink helps seal in the chalk, creating a water-color effect.  The chalks used are regular Crayola chalks that can be bought at a dollar store or grocery store.  I used red, green, and blue chalk on the image.  The red actually looks like a darker pink so it worked well with the ribbon and the pink card base.

The sentiments for both cards are “miniMARKS” rub-on transfers from American Crafts.  Both ribbons are also from American Crafts called “Dear Lizzy Value 24 Pack”.  The embossing machine I used is called Sizzix Texture Boutique which I got from Amazon for around $35.00.  It only embosses (no die-cutting) but I can always use my Cricut Expression to cut what I need.

This embossing folder is such a cute image, and just by changing the paper or ribbon, it gives it a different feel.  Also, by changing the direction of the card base cut using the paper trimmer, you can have the A2 size card open from top to bottom or from side to side.  Using pastel 8 1/2 x 11 card stock from Wal-mart, I was able to cut two A2 cards out of the blue paper (opens side to side) and two A2 cards out of the pink paper (opens top to bottom).  I will save the extra cards for other projects.

Tip: To get an A2 that opens from top to bottom, take your 8 1/2 x 11 paper and cut it length-wise at the 4.25 mark.  This will give you a 4.25 x 11 shape that when folded in half (top to bottom) results in a 4.25 x 5.5 sized card.  To get an A2 that opens from side to side, place your paper on the trimmer so its laying width-wise (11 x 8 1/2) and then cut it in half at the 5.5 mark.  This will give you a 5.5 x 8.5 shape that when folded in half (side to side) results in a 4.25 x 5.5 sized card.  Each 8 1/2 x 11 sheet of paper will make two perfect A2 sized cards with no paper waste (cards must open the same way: top to bottom or side to side to achieve this) and only requires one cut on the trimmer, followed up by one fold with a bone folder.  A2 sized cards are perfect for Cuttlebug, Sizzix, or other brand embossing folders that are sized A2 or smaller.

Thanks for looking!

Vanessa

6 thoughts on ““Birds of a Feather” Flock Together – 2 Sizzix Embossed Cards for Comparison

  1. Hi Vanessa, beautiful cards. I love the Birds of a Feather embossing folder. The images came out really nice. Thanks for the tip on the chalks and embossing pen. I’m going to have to give that a try. My old set of chalks were permanent. I bought a new set and found out the hard way that they weren’t permanent like the old one. So your tip is very helpful. Thanks for sharing! ~Sophia

    • Hi Sophia! Thank you for the lovely comments! I must admit that I didn’t know there were permanent chalks out there :). So I just learned something too! I think I am going to add that to my Christmas wish list! Hope you are well!

        • Thanks for the great tip! I just checked out the site and those chalks look wonderful! I would love to receive that for Christmas from my husband since he already knows more craft supplies will be at the top of my list! Thanks for the link! I also checked out the site’s projects and the stencils they used are adorable. I will have to give that a try!

    • Hi Lindsay! Thanks for checking out my blog and for leaving such a lovely comment! I am always thrilled to meet new crafters! I am constantly learning new things every time I make a card, and exploring other crafter’s creations inspires me and helps me to grow in this new craft I love so much. I will hop over to your blog next! Hope to see you again!

What are your thoughts?

