Linen Closet and a Turtle

Here is a cute, pun-filled card made from the Cricut Lite Four Legged Friends (FLF) cartridge!  This is my 3rd card made from FLF and I like the layering this cartridge provides because you can play with different colors and patterns.  For this thank you card, I used the turtle image which was cut at 2.5 inches.  The card base is 5×7.

All of the patterned card stock used on the turtle and background is from DCWV’s “Linen Closet Mat Stack with Glitter” which already comes in a 4.5 x 6.5 size which is perfect as a background mat for 5×7 cards.  I used the blue striped mat for the first background layer and then added a trimmed down flower mat to the lower half of the card.  I used white ribbon from American Crafts to hide the seam between the two mats.  The buttons are from a variety pack from Hobby Lobby’s sewing department.  I had fun with some sentiments too using my computer:  “Just popping out to say Thank You!” and “We had a turtle-ific time!”  For the front of the card, I used a ‘speech bubble’ shape from Word, added text, printed it on some scrap card stock, and then trimmed it with scissors.  For the inside, I used cloud clip art from Word, typed the sentiment in 14 pt. Century Gothic font, and printed it on 4.5 X 6.5 cream card stock.  I then added a strip of the flowery DCWV paper to coordinate with the front of the card.  The turtle itself pops off the card thanks to foam tape.  I really enjoyed using the “Linen Closet” paper stack for this card.  It has a peaceful, dreamy effect with its pale blue and beige palette.

4 thoughts on “Linen Closet and a Turtle

    • Hey Sophia! Thanks for the wonderful comments. I made this card for my sister and her husband as a thank you for having us over for the Labor Day holiday. We had a nice trip visiting with them in Florida this past week. When hubby and I were at Cumberland Island’s Visitor Center, we bought them a carved marble sea turtle so I wanted to make a turtle thank you card to go with it. I had a lot of fun using the Linen Closet paper which reminds me of the beach. I also had fun thinking up the cute sentiments. When my sister saw the card, she pointed out that the buttons looked like pebbles on a beach and that the contrasting papers looked like water and sand so she immediately thought of the ocean which is what I was shooting for (even though the turtle image isn’t exactly a sea turtle and I learned on the web that sea turtles don’t pop out their heads like land turtles) :). But it worked for the intended purpose and they loved the card and the marble turtle gift! Thanks for checking out the post and I hope you have a wonderful weekend!! ~Vanessa

What are your thoughts?

