Have a “Fin-tastic” Birthday – Fish Bowl Shape Card

Hello, I made this fun ‘fish bowl shape’ card a couple of days ago.  It’s from Cricut’s Four Legged Friends cartridge.

I used Cricut’s Design Studio to weld two 6 inch bowls together and then hid the lines that I didn’t want cut.  My cream cardstock felt a little flimsy once I cut out the fishbowl base so I cut another base in light blue for the inside of the card.  I adhered the two layers together using adhesive tape.  With allowing the bowl’s opening to cut, I was able to tie a tag (cut from WIMG at 3 inches) with a stamped birthday sentiment to the card.  Since this is a shape card, the tag also allowed me room to include the bubbles that go with the fish bowl.  I don’t have a lot of cute stamps with funny puns but my computer has provided a great work around.  I typed the fun, fishy sentiment in Word and printed it on a Storybook image cut at 3 1/2 inch (taped the shape to copy paper and ran it through the printer).  I cut this image again at 3 3/4 inches in orange cardstock for a shadow.  I used foam tape on the fish and sentiment to add dimension.  Here is my tutorial showing how the fish and bowl were cut in Design Studio ~ Fish Bowl Shape Card Tutorial.

You can find related posts below.  Mel and Faith’s blogs are full of fun and creative ideas.  It was nice to have examples to look at when constructing the fish bowl and fish layers.

Embossing Technique for the Water

I am still learning about different embossing techniques and I stumbled onto this wonderful blog by Deena at http://acreativeneed.wordpress.com/techniques.  She features a post called  “Negative Embossing with VersaMark (Watermark)”.  I love the card she made using this technique so I tried it on the water for the fish bowl. I used a VersaMark ink pad to cover the entire negative side of my D’vine Swirl embossing folder.  Then I put the paper inside the folder and ran it through my Sizzix embossing machine.  Next, I sprinkled clear embossing powder over the paper and then used my heat gun.  As I heated the powder, I noticed that my choice of cardstock didn’t result in a shiny finish but rather an oily look which altered the shade of the paper.  But in this instance, I am more pleased with the results because it looks distressed.  By inking the reverse side of the embossing folder, my swirly waves are lighter in color and stand out more.  It looks like I sandpapered the raised edges so it’s interesting how it turned out by “accident” :).

This card was a lot of fun to make and I might make another one to keep on my desk!  It’s pleasing to watch fish swim and this is the next best thing when you have cats!

Thanks for looking!

Vanessa

6 thoughts on “Have a “Fin-tastic” Birthday – Fish Bowl Shape Card

    • Thank you for the lovely comment and for subscribing to my blog! I am still learning new techniques as a relatively new card maker but the journey is fun and addictive. I am hopping over to your blog next! ~Vanessa

  1. OMG, this is SO cute! I absolutely love shape cards and your turned out so wonderfully. I’m so happy I could inspire you and thank you so much for linking back to my project. I’m off to check out the rest of your blog!

    • Hi Faith! Thanks so much for checking out the post! This card was so much fun to make and I plan to make more in the future! Your card really helped me visualize how the fish layers and bowl would cut and it saved me time and paper :). Thanks for checking out my blog!

What are your thoughts?

