A Daisy For Her

This is a card I made for a family member who has an upcoming birthday.  She is a young, independent woman who has been dealing with some of life’s challenges all on her own, away from family.  I am sending this card to send sunny days her way to let her know we are thinking of her and wish her much happiness.  When I think of her, this daisy flower personifies her charm, wit, and spunkiness.  She is loyal, supportive, and caring of family and friends alike.  I admire her courage in a tough world that seems to always impose challenges at the worst possible moments, but she overcomes and still manages a smile and a joke.  Happy Birthday Sharon and I hope sunny days come your way with bright blue skies.

Card Details
  • Cricut’s Walk In My Garden Cartridge (daisy)
  • Paper
    1. Wausau’s Mocha Mix – Royal Fiber Driftwood cardstock
    2. My Mind’s Eye Simply Delightful – light blue and polka dot paper
  • Embellishments ~ large light-blue button, Hemp cord in light green, D’vine Swirls Cuttlebug folder, pink & white striped ribbon from Dear Lizzy assortment, pink adhesive gems, Martha Stewart “You’re Invited” stamp, black stamp pad, and ‘Happy Birthday’ rub-on in white
Assembly

I paper trimmed and folded the card base first and laid it aside.  I paper trimmed polka-dotted paper measuring 4 1/2 x 6 1/2 (this allows the 5 x 7 card base to be exposed a 1/4 inch on all sides to create a layering effect) and then paper trimmed light blue paper measuring 4 1/2 x 1 1/2.  I took a Martha Stewart’s “You’re Invited” stamp that had a nice frame around the words and I trimmed a piece of scotch tape to cover up the words inside the frame.  I stamped this modified stamp into a black Stampabilities ink pad and then removed the inked-up piece of tape so that it wouldn’t put a black smudge on my paper.  Now my stamp is only inked on the frame which I then stamped to the center of the blue strip of paper.  I waited for it to dry before using a white rub-on ‘Happy Birthday’ sentiment.  Then I applied a small pink adhesive gem on each side of the sentiment to add interest. I then adhered the blue strip over the polka-dotted’s bottom edge.  I ran my Scotch adhesive tape runner over a strip of ribbon and wrapped the ribbon around the paper to cover the area where the two papers meet.  I then adhered this completed card layer over the 5 x 7 card base.

The daisy was the last thing adhered to the card. I cut three WIMG daisy images at 4 inches on ivory cardstock and ran each daisy through a Cuttlebug folder called D’vine Swirls.  I took one daisy and adhered it to the polka dotted paper using a Zig Way 2 glue pen (this daisy was glued down flat).  I then took the second daisy and rotated the image so that the petals didn’t land in the same place as the first for a fuller appearance.  Once satisfied, I glued just the center of the daisy down and repeated the process with the third daisy (rotating and gluing only the center).  Since the second and third daisies’ petals were freely moving I was able to take the end of a paintbrush (a pen would work too) and curl the petals downward.  This gives the flower a 3-D look.  I then found a large light-blue button in my stash that was a perfect size for the center of the flower and I ran some light green hemp cord through the button and tied a bow.  I used white Elmer’s school glue to glue the button to the daisy’s center.  This glue seems to hold well from past experiences.

4 thoughts on “A Daisy For Her

  1. Sharon would be so happy to receive such a beautiful card. To me anything made by hand and by the giver herself is the most precious gift of all. It showed that you truly care about her and want to celebrate her special day by honoring her bravery, her triumphs, her accomplishment in the World . She is lucky to have you on her side. Looks like you shared a lot a experiences together. Your heart is full of generosity and love for others, this very card is a physical proof of that. thank you for the comment. It was beautiful. Looking forward to see your fishing pictures. My son wants to fish soon , I need to brush up on my skills. Take care.

    • Thank you for the lovely comment. Making cards has become a passion of mine. It started when my husband bought me a Cricut Expression die-cutting machine for my birthday in 2009 and now I have gotten brave enough to mix the machine aspect with my own designs. All I needed was practice and it has given me the courage to try new things. I love making cards for my family as an expression of how much they mean to me. Sharon is a close family member and she told me yesterday that the card was the best birthday card she had ever received. That meant a lot to me and I am so happy she loved it! Thank you again for commenting on my post and I do hope to post some fishing pictures soon :). I am sure your son will enjoy fishing no matter what too :).

What are your thoughts?

