A Masculine Birthday Card for My Dear Hubby

This is my very first masculine card and I thought it was going to be a tough challenge but I think this is my favorite card to date.  It was a little odd not using my usual supplies: feminine patterned paper, stickles, and ribbon.  However, once I got started using some new cardstock and my Camp Out cartridge it opened up my mind to future card possibilities.  It’s amazing what you can come up with all of the different papers available on the market and there are so many ways that these can be layered.  I have absolutely fallen in love with a new paper collection I found on Amazon.  I stumbled on this by accident because I was $3.83 short from being able to have free shipping on Amazon’s website.  So I started looking around for other scrapbooking supplies and found this 20 count stack for $4.49 and thought I would give it a try.  Now I would like to have more.  The quality of the paper is excellent.  It’s called Wausau Creative Collection Shades Specialty Cardstock “Mocha Mix” and measures 12×12 inches.  It’s a 65 lb. cover cardstock and it makes wonderful, crisp folds for cards and envelopes.  In my opinion, it looks more like a professional card than the other ones I have made.  When it folds, it doesn’t have a broken appearance in the paper fibers unlike some cardstocks I have used previously.  It’s not too flimsy either.  It’s the right mix in weight and texture.  It also cuts very nicely on my Cricut Expression.  I hope my husband enjoys receiving this card.  We both love the outdoors and I wanted to create him a nature-inspired card reminiscent of our life in the country and the fun times we’ve had camping out.  Happy Birthday hon!

The Mocha Mix colors I used for the card and envelope are:

Royal Fiber Kraft (card base and envelope)

Royal Complements Umber (tree bark, deer antlers and hooves, pine cone shadows, accent frame, and wooden frame)

Astroparche Sand (deer hide, pine cone outer layer, husband’s name on envelope)

Other papers used:

My Mind’s Eye “Simply Delightful” paper stack – green paper (pine cone greenery, pine trees’ top layer)

Cream 65 lb. cover cardstock for ‘Happy Birthday’ sentiment on front of card (from desktopsupplies.com)

Glue:

Zig 2-Way Chisel Glue Pen (for intricate paper embellishments)

Scotch® Adhesive Tape Roller (for larger paper embellishments)

Hemp Cord:

Found a three-color pack at Wal-Mart for $1.97 (I used the kraft color)

Cricut Cartridges and Cuts:

Wild Card Cartridge

  • Pg 66 envelope cut at 4 ¾ inches from kraft cardstock (blackout)
  • Pg 66 card cut at 4 ¾ inch inches from kraft cardstock (blackout)
  • Pg 56 ‘G’; Pg 60 ‘L’; Pg 44 ‘E’; Pg 67 ‘N’ all cut at 1 inch from sand cardstock 

Camp Out Cartridge

  • Cut pine cone and its different layers at 2 inches (umber brown, sand, and green paper)
  • Cut the trees and their different layers at 2 inches (umber brown and green paper) I manually trimmed off the green trees’ trunks to expose the underlying brown tree trunks using scissors.
  • Cut two deer layers at 2 inches (umber brown and sand paper) Again I trimmed off the lighter paper’s horns and hoofs to expose the underlying darker brown layer with scissors.
  • Cut wooden frame twice in umber brown and sand cardstock at 4 1/4 inch – used remnant from the sand cardstock frame and ran it through my printer to print the sentiment from Microsoft Word (Tempus Sans font at 12 pt.) I taped it to the top center of a piece of copy paper and it printed perfectly on the sand cardstock.

Storybook Cartridge

For Card

  • Pg 71 Thank you shape (accent blackout) cut at 2 inches in cream cardstock.  *I cut this shape twice for the card and envelope.
  • Stamped ‘Happy Birthday’ using TPC Studio’s Greetings Clear Stamp with brown Stampabilities ink prior to embossing with a Cuttlebug Swiss Dots folder.
  • Pg 71 Umber brown accent/frame (accent shift) cut at 2 inches.  I used the hide selected contour feature in Cricut’s Design Studio so that the frame cut without the decorative diamonds and circles.

For Envelope

  • I used the left over inside piece from the umber brown frame to glue on top of the extra cream accent piece to decorate the envelope.  Then I glued G L E N on top of the umber brown accent shape.
4 thoughts on “A Masculine Birthday Card for My Dear Hubby

      • So…..Loren should be expecting a Vanessa original sometime in September or at least by October. Just kidding! I’m looking forward to what you come up with. I know it will be fantastic! Love, Paula Ann

      • Ha! You’re a mess. Well, I will have you know that I finished his card today believe it or not. And I think he’s going to like it. It’s fun and very whimsical. It’s now become my most favorite card to date. Thanks for checking out my blog again. I thought something was amiss when my blog stat counter jumped up quite a bit in such a short time. At first I thought I was “freshly pressed” – an honor bestowed by WordPress but you guys checking out my blog is more dear to me. 🙂 Love ya’ll

What are your thoughts?

