Happy Birthday Sis! ~ Doily Card

I want to wish my dear sister, Paula a very happy birthday!  I made her birthday card and matching envelope out of My Mind’s Eye “Bloom and Grow” paper line.  The individual floral sheets I used from this line are called “Spring in Bloom”.  I bought five individual sheets from Hobby Lobby to ensure I had enough in case of mistakes.  I also used orange paper for the envelope’s liner from My Mind’s Eye paper stack called “Simply Delightful” and the colors worked perfectly!  I found inspiration for this card  from a truly talented card maker named Mary at her blog called Cardz TV.  Here is a link to an anniversary card she made for her in-laws: http://cardztv.blogspot.com/2010/04/doily-card.html.  I love how Mary used a Cuttlebug folder to emboss cream cardstock as the focal point and let the patterned paper decorate the other parts of the doily card.  Thanks Mary for the inspiration.  I truly love how this card turned out.

Here is the card’s recipe:

  • I cut the doily card base in cream cardstock from Cricut’s Wild Card cartridge at 5 inches
  • I cut the card’s circle liner in “Spring in Bloom” paper at 5 inches
  • I cut another circle liner in cream cardstock at 5 inches (I only wanted the left over circle for the inside of the card’s message)
  • I cut the doily card base again but this time I used the blackout feature and cut it using “Spring in Bloom” paper at 5 inches (I then used a paper trimmer to cut this in half)
  • I ran the top face of the cream doily card through my Sizzix embosser using a Stylized Flower A2 Cuttlebug folder
  • I adhered the floral circle liner to the face of the embossed cream card
  • I then adhered the “cut in half” blackout-cut floral paper to the inside of the doily card’s bottom half
  • I then adhered the cream circle to the floral bottom half
  • I applied miniMARKS rub-on transfers to the cream circle to decorate the message area
  • Lastly I ran orange ribbon through the doily card and tied it off at the top with a bow (Pastel Ribbon Scrap Pack by the Paper Studio)

Here is the envelope’s recipe:

  • I cut the doily envelope base in “Spring in Bloom” paper at 5 inches
  • I cut the envelope liner in orange paper from My Mind’s Eye “Simply Delightful” paper stack at 5 inches
  • I adhered the liner to the envelope base, scored and folded the envelope where dictated by the ‘tic’ marks, and glued down the appropriate edges
2 thoughts on “Happy Birthday Sis! ~ Doily Card

What are your thoughts?

