Birthday Greetings for my Mother-in-Law

Green and pink birthday card

I want to wish my mother-in-law, Mrs. Joanne, a very Happy Birthday!  I made this 5X7 birthday card for her using my Cricut Expression and Paper Studio’s Poteeka Souffle paper stack.  I used the Wild Card Cricut cartridge to cut the cake image twice in green and white and then used the green outline layer with the white inside cake layers to give it an interesting look.  I cuttlebugged the white cake layers with the D’vine Swirls embossing folder.  Since this cake is actually a liner image from the Wild Card cartridge sized to fit the front of a bridal shower card (pg. 79), I had to enlarge the cake icon to 6 1/8 inches (this isn’t a true size of the actual cut out image – it just means that the cut I ended up with would work with a 6 1/8 inch sized bridal shower card).  I also cut a trio of flowers from Wild Card at 1 1/2 inch several times in green, white, and pink paper and mixed the layers up to add variety to the flowers.  I cut four individual candles at 1 3/4 inch from Wild Card out of white paper and used a yellow glitter glue pen to color in the flames.  I love how this came out and the hot pink and green papers from Poteeka Souffle really make it a fun, bright card perfect for a birthday celebration.  As mentioned, the cake liner image was intended for a bridal shower card but now you can see that this same image can be used for a birthday card.  By using the inside cutouts of the liner, you can have a solid-looking cake instead of just an outline.  By cutting it twice or a few times more, you can change the color of the outline and the inside stacks of cake!  It’s a really fun way to be creative using different colors of paper and patterns.

What are your thoughts?

