It has to be romantic… and masculine?

So, my husband and I will be celebrating an anniversary soon and it’s time for another masculine card but one that also expresses LOVE. Sigh! I’m starting to think that a romantic masculine card is the trickiest of all the masculine card categories! When my creative well runs dry, I tap into inspiring sources. Usually a quick tour through Pinterest ends the drought, but sometimes it’s just good to visit your blog pals. It’s amazing how many delightful and inspiring cards are hiding in people’s blogs of all places! :)

So with renewed vigor, this is what I came up with after being inspired by Sarah at The Handmade Card Blog. Please check out her elegant anniversary card here. I love her patterned paper choices underneath her punched out hearts and that gorgeous woodgrain paper from Simon Says Stamp. I tried to mimic the look using a woodgrain folder by Tim Holtz but used a darker palette of kraft cardstock framed by mats in black.

Studio Calico Polaroid frame; Cricut Sweethearts heart

Recipe

  • Kraft and black cardstock (A2 sized card)
  • Sizzix Texture Fades Tim Holtz – woodgrain embossing folder
  • Heart aperture – Cricut Sweethearts cartridge (2.5 inches)
  • Studio Calico “Yearbook Collection” Polaroid Die-Cut Frame
  • Studio Calico “Darling Dear” 6×6 patterned paper (underneath heart aperture)
  • Amy Tangerine Remarks “Cute Overload” Puffy Heart Sticker
  • Red Baker’s Twine (Martha Stewart)
  • White Gel Pen (wrote in the year)
  • Dimensional Adhesive

Masculine Anniversary Card

Sending wishes that you’ll be inspired by someone or something today!

Vanessa

6 thoughts on “It has to be romantic… and masculine?

  1. I agree, masculine cards are hard enough but trying to put romance in with that is definitely tough. But you did a fantastic job combining the two. I love this card!!! I’m sure hubby will love it too :) Happy Anniversary!!! ~Sophia

    • Hi Scarlett! I’ve missed stopping by your blog! Thanks for visiting me and for the lovely comment! I need to reach out to my favorite blogs and see what you all have been up to! Take care! Vanessa

What are your thoughts?

