Birthday Card – FFC Sketch Challenge

Hello! I have never done a sketch challenge before but thanks to Jo at Jo’s Scrap Shack, I took the plunge and I’m so happy I did. My niece’s birthday is coming up so I decided to use the sketch as my inspiration to make Amber’s card. She is turning 11 and growing up so fast!

Ice Cream Sundae Birthday Card

If you want to check out the sketch to see how I did, go to Jo’s post here. Every Friday, she hosts a Funday Friday Challenge (FFC) and everyone is invited to play along! This sketch challenge ends June 7th, 6:00 pm CST. Winners will be announced on Monday, June 10th.

Ice Cream Sundae - JBC

Card Recipe

Cricut’s Just Because Cards – Sundae (3.5 inches)

Cricut’s Fancy Frames – Frame and oval (4.25 inches)

Cuttlebug Embossing – D’vine Swirls & Swiss Dots

Glossy Accents

White Gel Pen

Adhesive gems

Dear Lizzy Ribbon

Dear Lizzy 5th & Frolic Thickers (foil letter stickers)

Assorted papers (Recollections All Seasons, Colorbök, and Kraft cardstock)

Inside message printed in Word

Inside of Card

12 thoughts on “Birthday Card – FFC Sketch Challenge

  1. Your card is awesome Vanessa! I love your sundae, the color combo is awesome-so summery!! I’m so glad that you tried a sketch, they really do help get the ole’ mojo going! lol I hope you will join us again!! Thanks for joining us at Jo’s Funday Friday;-)

    • Thank you so much Brenda! It truly was a wonderful experience using a sketch for the first time! I was surprised how quickly this card come together and I can’t wait to try more Funday Friday challenges! Thanks so much for dropping by and for the wonderful encouragement! ~Vanessa

  2. Oh Vanessa this card is soooo pretty!!! That sundae looks good enough to eat right now LOL … I’m sure your niece is going to love it,…. so so pretty! I’m glad that the sketch was something you enjoyed working with and you did a fantastic job with your interpretation of it! Thanks so very much for playing with us at Jo’s Funday Friday Challenges and I sure hope you come back each week and join us for more fun! Have a wonderful weekend!

    Hugs,
    Jo
    Jo’s Scrap Shack

    • Hi Jo! I’m so tickled you mentioned your Funday Friday Challenge yesterday! Thanks for reaching out to me to give it a try! I had so much fun with this challenge and had a wonderful experience trying out a sketch for the first time. It really helped me in the design and it just came together so easily. I usually get lost in the layout so this was an eye opener for me. I can’t believe I waited so long to try out a sketch. I love your new challenge opportunities and will be looking to participating in many more that you offer. Thanks again for reaching out and encouraging me to link up. I really appreciate it and thanks for your lovely comments on Amber’s card! I hope she likes it. :) Hubby said it was bright and colorful and reminded him of an ice cream shop. :) Hope you’re having a wonderful weekend so far! ~Vanessa

  3. Beautiful card Vanessa!!! You did a great job with the challenge. I love this card with all the embossing. Especially the ice cream scoop. It’s so perfect!!! I’m sure Amber will love it too!!! ~Sophia

What are your thoughts?

