Whooooo’s Having a Birthday?

My niece Amber is turning 10 so I made her this cute owl birthday card! The colorful, patterned paper is from My Mind’s Eye “Simply Delightful” stack. I love the combination of the bright colors against the brown. The owl and filigree frames are from Straight From the Nest, the square card base is from Walk in My Garden, and the balloon is from Potpourri Basket (originally from Celebrations).

I printed the sentiment on regular copy paper and then taped the cream filigree shape to the other side, making sure it was centered on the text. I then ran it through my printer face down so it would print on the filigree. The font is called Waterfalls at 18 pt. in ‘Tan Darker 50%’. To get this free scrapbook font, check out Kevin and Amanda’s lovely website: www.kevinandamanda.com.

The gold gel pen’s faux stitching blends nicely with this colored font. I used a white gel pen for stitching on the front of the card. A goal of mine is to learn how to use my sewing machine to apply real stitching! I love that handmade look!

Cut Sizes:

  • Owl, shadow, and layers ~ 2.5 inches
  • Square card base and square mats ~ 5 inches
  • Balloon ~ 3 inches (hid contour lines with Design Studio)
  • Filigree frame (shadow cut) ~ cut twice at 4 inches, cut twice at 3.5 inches

Embellishments:

  • googly eyes
  • brown ink
  • American Crafts “Dear Lizzy” ribbon
  • Sizzix Damask embossing folder
  • white and gold gel pens
  • foam dimensionals to raise up the owl, filigree frame, and balloon

I also made a square envelope from Walk in My Garden and cut it just a bit bigger than the card at 5 1/8 inches to allow more room for the bow and raised up images. I used 11×17 65 lb. cover white cardstock purchased from Desktop Publishing Supplies with my 12×24 mat. More information about this paper can be found at my Paper Solutions page at the top of my blog. I love the weight of this paper for envelopes and it scores smoothly with a scoreboard. Walk in My Garden’s envelope has little tic lines to show where to score and fold the flaps but since I don’t want these to cut, I  hid the lines using Design Studio as seen below. The light blue lines mean these are now hidden and won’t cut.

Thanks for looking!

Vanessa

8 thoughts on “Whooooo’s Having a Birthday?

  1. This is such a cute card Vanessa!!! Love the googly eyes on the owl. The embossing on the cover and inside panels looks great!!! I’m sure Amber will love this card!!! ~Sophia

    • Thanks so much Sophia! I love the googly eyes too! It makes the card more cute and interactive. I’m digging how the embossing turned out and I can clearly say I’m addicted to inking everything now :) because it makes things pop more. Thanks for the lovely comment and visit!! :)

  2. Wow This is very creative! Please also check out my blog at dailyadvice101.wordpress.com! Thank you very much

What are your thoughts?

