Handmade Wooden Ribbon Dispenser

I love cardmaking and my husband, Glen, loves woodworking. Recently, these two hobbies combined when Glen made me a wooden ribbon dispenser. Previously, I stored my ribbon in a plastic tool box which made it difficult to see what colors and types I had. I looked around online for storage options but the nice wooden ones were around $70 and $100 and I just didn’t want to spend that kind of money on a dispenser. So I asked my husband if he could come up with something and here is his creation:

Glen made it so that it would be light enough to carry, compact enough to sit on my work table (board on top of guest room bed ;)), but roomy enough to store a good amount of ribbon. He far exceeded my expectations and it didn’t cost him a thing since he already had the materials in his shop, even the dowels.

His starting point was to look at my ribbon collection. He deduced that I’m drawn to quarter inch ribbon. I had 74 rolls of this size. He then looked at the various sizes of dowels he had on hand and the 3/8 inch size worked perfectly. He drilled holes for four dowels using a 3/8″ Forstner drill bit to create tiers. Each tier holds 20 rolls of quarter inch ribbon giving me 80 rolls of storage. He made the unit’s base thicker and heavier so it wouldn’t flop over while being used, and used thinner wood for the sides, making the overall unit lightweight. He also added support to the back and cut out a hand-hole to carry it around if needed. He added nice touches to the dispenser by routing edges, sanding, adding clear varnish, steel wooling, and then adding another layer of clear varnish for a smooth, shiny piece of art.

And this is what it looks like with the ribbon! I love how he made this! It’s perfect for storing and dispensing.

Since the dowels are not permanently affixed, I can remove and add rolls of ribbon as needed. Also, the spools of ribbon move freely for dispensing and can all be seen at a glance which helps me visually. I love this dispenser and truly appreciate my husband’s support of this hobby which brings me so much joy. I’m also tickled that he had fun designing and creating his first ribbon dispenser. It’s a win-win for us both!

16 thoughts on “Handmade Wooden Ribbon Dispenser

    • Thanks so much for checking out my post and for the lovely comment! I’m so tickled with what Glen made and wanted to share it with the world :). This is a nice alternative to those expensive ones out there but I couldn’t have made this myself. I don’t know how to woodwork! I just couldn’t see spending that kind of money for just ribbon storage so I’m happy that my husband could help. Hope you are having a wonderful evening! Thanks again for stopping by! Vanessa

  1. This is absolutely fantastic!!! I just saw an article in one of the card magazines where they used a metal pants hanger as a ribbon holder. It was a good idea but it doesn’t compare to your ribbon holder!!! It’s just beautiful!!! Best of all it was made with lots of love!!! Enjoy! ~Sophia

    • Hi Sophia! Thanks so much for your comments! I am so tickled and proud of what Glen made that I showed him this post to let him know how much I appreciate his creation. :) I had looked around in stores and on the web trying to find something that would work and the ones that looked like a possibility were just so expensive. Glen has always been talented with woodworking and luckily he had the tools and materials to make this lovely dispenser. It is going to make crafting easier and more enjoyable. Thanks for your supportive comments! I will share them with Glen! :)

  2. Wow! You are one lucky girl Vanessa. Glen has made a fantastic job. Love the design of this. It’s perfect. Have you got enough ribbons there? :) Thanks for sharing.
    Regards Florence x

    • Thanks Florence! I will share your lovely comments with Glen! :) He did a great job – better than I could think up for the design. It’s just what I needed. I love ribbon and I guess I have enough for now… LOL! Thanks for your lovely visit and comments! ~Vanessa

  3. Oh yesssss, this is awesome, look at all the ribbon you can put on there! I wish my hubby could make something like that, how cool to have such a talented guy around. :)

  4. I’m new to the the cricut world but have a nice collection of ribbons from other crafts. Unfortunately they are all in a shoe box. Not the best way to display them. I LOVE the wooden one that Glen made for you. It is just perfect. Exactly what I’m looking for. My husband was looking over my shoulder and commented, “That’s what I want to make for you.” Lucky me. :-) He is wondering if Glen has measurements he would be willing to share.

    • Hi Cindy! Thank you so much for your lovely comment! I told Glen and he is appreciative as well! :) He doesn’t mind sharing the measurements but it would be easier for me to send you a couple of scanned pictures with the measurements written on it. To do this, I will have to send you an email if you don’t mind. I have your email from your comment above, so hopefully this will be ok. I will send it along as soon as I get Glen’s help writing it down for me. :) ~Vanessa

      • Oh, thank you and Glen. Of course you can send me an email. We appreciate what you both are doing for us. You are very generous. I must say, I am very excited. Thank you again. Cindy

        • Hi Cindy! Thanks for your patience with all those emails. :) Now I know it was a size issue causing the failure. And thank you for your lovely comment and interest in the ribbon dispenser! Take care! Vanessa

What are your thoughts?

